My Nominations for the PHC Top 3 Monthly Contest - Kids TV Shows

in #phctop35 years ago

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

This is my entry into this month’s PHC Top 3 contest. I can't believe how nostalgic choosing these three nominations has made me feel. Going back through all the different videos I'm shocked at all the detail I remember and all the songs I can sing, remembering every word.

The three TV shows that I have selected run in chronological order. Nomination 1 was some of my earliest memories whereas Nominations two and three were as I was growing up.

If you like the look of the contest they you still have time to enter. The closing date is the 9th of June. Here is a link to the main contest post. Contest Start Post

Enjoy! 😁

This month's topic is Kids TV Shows

Nomination 1 - Balamory

This was one of the many TV shows that I used to watch as a Baby! I was about 1-2 years old. Balamory was produced from 2001 to 2005 and I was born in 2003. It literally is some of my earliest memories.

My Nanna has a friend, Jill, who's granddaughter has an extremely rare condition. When Sammy was born there were only 10 other people in the world that had this debilitating illness. As being a recipient of the Make A Wish Foundation, she chose to spend her wish by visiting the cast and set of Balamory with her family. Sammy is now the only person in the world left with this condition. She is now 20 years old and doing really well. I hope to see her again in the summer.

Balamory Theme Tune


Nomination 2 - Lazy Town




Lazy Town aired from 2004 to 2014. So this was after Balamory and I was a little bit older. The show was so cool because of the brilliant character names (Stingy, Bessie Busybody, Mayor Milford Meanswell etc), storylines, music, vibrant colours and Robbie Rotten, the baddie! Boooooooooo! Stephanie, played by Julianna Rose Mauriello from Irvington, New York, was my role model, as you can see down below. 😁


Lazy Town Theme Tune



Cooking by the Book- Lazy Town - My Favourite Song. I remember all the words.

Nomination 3 - Tracy Beaker Returns



Tracy Beaker Returns aired from 2010 to 2012, so I was around 7 to 10 years old. When we first moved abroad from the UK, I didn't have any access to watch it. When we would return to England for visits, I would binge watch it to catch up.

The story is about a foster child, Tracy, who returned to the 'Dumping Ground' (Home for children) to become a member of staff and work with the kids. The show had unique characters and everybody watching would have at least one person that they could relate to. They were also casting actors with disabilities; for instance, Frank Matthews (Chris Slater) had Cerebral Palsy, one of the first children's shows to do this. The character that I liked/related to the most was Tee Taylor. This was because she was kind and cared about others, especially her brother Johnny.

Tracy Beaker Returns Theme Tune

I hope you enjoyed my nominations and don't forget to vote for them! 😁

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3:

5SP10SP25SP
50SP100SP150SP
200SP250SP300SP
400SP500SP1000SP

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Awesome! Thanks for sending over your entry fee, just letting you know that I've added you in with your nominations now!

Good luck and keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming dpoll between 16th - 18th where we put it to the public vote and let the Steem community decide their top 3 :)

text16.png

G

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Remember to transfer 50% of the post payout as SBD to @phctop3 with a link to your entry in the memo, otherwise it won't be eligible. This is the minimum entry fee, there is no maximum. You can add as much as you like to your initial fee to give you bigger potential rewards.

text16.png

This was great to see some of the shows from your generation! We very much appreciate the enthusiasm you bring to the contest with your choices. Good luck in the dpoll!

P2P

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Thank you so much! I have really enjoyed writing up about this topic, it brought back lots of lovely memories and made me feel very nostalgic!! Thank you for the opportunity!

Posted using Partiko Android

I may not be familiar with any of your choices, but I love how you describe them all! Bonus for that super cute picture of you in the pink wig. That's lovely that Sammy was able to visit with the cast of your first choice, but even better that she is still doing well. Your last choice sounds like a really great one with all of the diversity in cast and relatable characters. After years of being out of the loop watching kids shows, I have to say I kind of have fun seeing some of the things my niece watches on occasion. (She's 3) Many things are different, but still a lot of things the same from 30 years ago when I was a child! Thanks for sharing your top picks with us!

Thank you for your kind words @plantstoplanks!! :D

Posted using Partiko Android

We have launched the dpoll and here is the link: dpoll

Don’t forget to vote and tell your friends too. Best of luck.

The PHC Top 3 Team

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png