Baclaran's National Shrine of Our Mother of Perpetual Help

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

Hey folks! Welcome to another @photocontests entry post.

This is Baclaran's famous 24hr church known for the Novena to Our Mother of Perpetual Help and benedictions that cause traffic every Wednesday due to all the people who go there for novena.

IMG_20180223_205256_20180314165605248.jpg

Say hello to the altar of the National Shrine of Our Mother of Perpetual Help (Pambansáng Dambana ng Ina ng Laging Saklolo) in Baclaran. This can be found in Paranaque City, one of the cities in Metro Manila, Philippines.

So last month when I was trying to get to where the world's oldest Bamboo Organ is for a music festival in a Las Piñas church, I ended up here instead on one night. All the jeepneys are full most of the time going to Las Piñas City in the evening. Eventually I tried to walk from near the Baclaran LRT station to where I thought I could have an easier time to ride but alas, no luck at the time so I curiously went into this church instead. It was along the road I walked so I thought, why not go inside and pray before going home.

Never been to that place before when I decided to drop by you know. I've been hearing about the famed Baclaran Day for years but never once thought of going there until I chanced upon it. It's my first time being in it and heck it's huge, errr spacious?

IMG_20180223_203926_20180314165410353.jpg

But wait, upon getting impressed by the size of it, I saw several cats loitering and feeling like they own the place. Haha. Check this out!

IMG_20180223_204329_20180314170228613.jpg

Couldn't help but take a picture of one of the cats, what with the cute backside...

Although I had one pic of it that's kinda creepy. Look at the cat eyes. Errr well lemme soften the pic up so it still looks kinda cute.

IMG_20180223_204143.jpg

Thar ya go.

Anyway a little bit of history:

• It was completely built on December 5, 1958. It took almost a year to build.
• And it is massive at the floor size of 5,069.2 sq. m. Well that's huge enough for me...
• It can seat up to 2,000 people but up to 9,000 people can stand around according to Wikipedia. It's also one of the largest Marian churches in the Philipines.
• The Redemptorists began the novena in 1948, and since then it has been a famous go to place on Wednesdays.
• Pope John Paul II held mass in it in 1973.
• It also has the country’s "longest mosaic mural" called Panagpo, finished just late last year and is 213-meter (700-feet) long. Didn't see this though because it was dark.

IMG_20180223_205033.jpg

What else can I say but the size is just impressive. And I never knew there's a place of worship like this that's open 24 hrs. Churches and parishes I know usually close at night so this was a welcome surprise. Lots of people still go and mill in and around the place even at past 9pm so at least the place still feels safe enough to go to at night. There are guards outside the church too. Parking wasn't too full but imagine, I was still seeing cars coming in at past 9 in the evening! I am just amazed. Lol.

Any Pinoys been there at night too?

XOXO,
@artgirl


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.

All images are mine.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also a real estate agent for resort-type condo communities in Metro Manila.
For any art or property inquiries, you can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg



For more of my latest posts still within the 7 day period since posting this, do check below:












For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.


Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Greetings @artgirl! Your post was chosen at random and was resteemed as part of Shareables' campaign. Enjoy your free resteem!

@Shareables, we resteem anything we find shareable. That means good quality content. Go on express and harness your blogging potential!

By upvoting this notification, you're supporting our campaign in Steemit. For more information about our campaign, click here!

God bless from us @Shareables!

Nice place!

Yeah!

Followed u hope to see more of your posts

Ok thanks!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 11:22:38
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 133.65/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 37
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Surprised you didn't photograph a full jeepney — just kidding! Nice post, I love the way your narrative point of view is woven around the photos. If you get a chance to photograph the mural, I'd love to see it, and I'm probably not the only one. Cheers!

Oh sure. Will do if I can get back there again. Haha. Thanks!

WOW! It's super duper pretty! :) I bet the Easter Mass held in it is spectacular.

Yeah I guess so. Haha. Haven't tried going to mass there yet. Maybe I should go on Easter. :)

Beautiful content - and it's your own work - thanks.

Uhm, yeah. Thanks for dropping by.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

ito din konti nalng kulang mag 2k words na

Post is good, I like it when there is time please visit my blog there may be you like

Ok. Pls be aware this is a spammy post that may be subject to flagging or downvoting. Thanks for dropping by.

ok friends, we also thank you, if you have upvote us,