WE SURVIVE FROM A FIRE INCIDENT: MARCH IS FIRE PREVENTION MONTH

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8352.JPG

FIRE PREVENTION MONTH AND MY EXPERIENCE FOR A FIRE INCIDENT

Why is that March is the Fire Prevention Month?

As stated in Rappler, dates back to 1996, the late president Ferdinand Marcos signed the Proclamation 115-A that assigned a particular aspect of safety and accident prevention to each month of the year.

In addition, March was also declared the Burn Prevention Month, as per Proclamation 360 of former president Corazon Aquino. This proclamation, signed in 1989, aims "to disseminate knowledge in the field of burn prevention and to enhance education in all phases of burn care".

According to Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA), it is around this month when temperature and humidity starts to reach high levels, causing "high sensible temperature" in the country. As such, this dry season in the Philippines is one of the big factor why fire incidents occur. In fact, according to Philippine Statistical Authority and Bureau of Fire Protection, there will be at least 9 fire incidents everyday nationwide.


My Experience of a Fire Incident

Back in 2016 around 5:30/6:00pm, I was studying a mathematics subject specifically MATH 51 (if I'm not mistaken, it was Trigonometry) in the living area to prepare myself of an examination. Unluckily, I went to the comfort room to release some sort of energy and bomb inside my tummy. And then, I never heard someone shouting that there was a fire. Everyone was busy doing their own business, running and packing to saved stuffs that they can rescued. It was a terrible experience for me because honestly, at that time I went out directly from the comfort room without washing/wiping my thing and cleaned it up. I just went directly to my room and packed things and my clothes. (I even forgot to bring important papers, certificates and passport- just my clothes and my puppy).

It's really funny to think that I am so weak yet at that time I lifted and saved our 40inches television and even knocked down the fridge alone. I didn't even think that I can do those stuffs in my entire life. It was a worst experience for me and the saddest part of it, is that all my awards and books turns into ashes. It's like all my hardworks vanished in a blink of an eye and like nothing happened.

IMG_8350.JPG
Everything turns into ashes

IMG_8336.JPG

IMG_8337.JPG

IMG_8344.JPG

IMG_8351.JPG


**Lesson** Life is always unpredictable and unmeasurable. There will always be an uncertainty. All we can do is to prepare ourselves on things that we will be facing ahead of us. I'm not saying that we will just accept things as it is, what I mean is that we must be knowledge enough, well equipped, prepared and **must prevent** accidents like fire to happen. It is controllable if we are just alert and careful on little things we do.

WHAT TO DO WHEN THERE IS FIRE?

  1. Know how to safely use a fire extinguisher.

  2. GET OUT, STAY OUT and CALL 9-1-1 or your local emergency phone number.

  3. Yell "Fire!" several times and go outside right away. If you live in a building with elevators, use the stairs. Leave all your things where they are and save yourself.

  4. If closed doors or handles are warm or smoke blocks your primary escape route, use your second way out. Never open doors that are warm to the touch.

  5. If you must escape through smoke, get low and go under the smoke to your exit. Close doors behind you.

  6. If smoke, heat or flames block your exit routes, stay in the room with doors closed. Place a wet towel under the door and call the fire department or 9-1-1.

  7. Open a window and wave a brightly colored cloth or flashlight to signal for help.

BE ALERT AND WISE


All photos are mine and taken by my iphone.

References:
https://www.rappler.com/newsbreak/iq/51947-march-fire-prevention-month
http://www.redcross.org/get-help/how-to-prepare-for-emergencies/types-of-emergencies/fire/if-a-fire-starts


Did I miss something? I hope I help you and just comment down below if you have any further questions. For more updates kindly follow me @barttalks. Any upvotes are highly appreciated
THANK YOU FOR PASSING BY!

IMG_7818.PNG

Sort:  

@barttalks We really should know what to do when a disaster occur, we cannot predict when will a disaster will occur especially fire. In the Philippines every one should be knowledgable in terms of disaster. Prevention, readiness, mitigation will be the key.

Indeed. We should all know those stuffs because one factor is out climate.

Yup. So stay safe and pray. Nice talking to you😊

Yes, nice talking to you too bro. Welcome to steemit. Hope you do what I suggested in your introductory blog. :)

Yup. I'm just a newbie here so I really don't understand some things here like you suggest. Is my introductory blog okay? Cause I plan on making another one because someone gave me a tip that I should include a picture of me with steemit something like that.

Yes you need to. My introductory post was failure also. So, i need to reintroduce myself too. Maybe, tomorrow :)

Ohhh okay thanks. I should make some improvement in my intro blog hahaha soon i'll post another one. It's really nice talking thanks dude.

So you mean like tag those you suggest that is related to my content? Am I right?

Open your fb, i sent a request and ill just tell things there cause mauubos steem width ko.

You got a 2.75% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @barttalks!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by barttalks from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.