Harvest Time

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

My parents-in-law harvested their rice yesterday. In our place, using a rice harvesting machine is common. They call it "halimaw". Sometimes I would heard the farmers in dialogue "pinahalimaw mo na ba palay mo" and the other would say, "oo e, kasi e dapang dapa yung palay ko".

They were scheduled to harvest on Wednesday but the owner of the harvesting machine called them and asked if they could make it on Monday instead. So yesterday was a busy day for them and that today some of the golden grains are being dried by means of sunlight.

I just think, that is the life of a farmer. Siguro masarap sa pakiramdam yung after mag ani. Nagpaka hirap sila mag tanim and now worth it yung inani nila. A portion of their profit will be used for their next planting.

My father is also a farmer but I experienced a little about his farming. Maybe because I am a woman and I could not be of help when it comes to the physical works in our bukid. My father has unused lands. He is not planting rice on it, maybe because of its topographical location. Many houses have been beside it. I do not actually know the reason, but someday, I want to ask my father if I could get a share of that land. I want to plant mango trees on that area. I would fence it with hollow blocks so to secure it from other people. I hope that when time comes my daughter has grown up, she will enjoy the benefits of the trees. I am not selfish so maybe, the profits can be shared to the kids of my siblings, if they would help me also in return.