Practice the pause... Tips from a pessimistic optimist

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

Capture3.JPG

“Practice the pause. When in doubt, pause. When angry, pause. When tired, pause. When stressed, pause. And when you pause, pray.” - Unknown

Have you ever felt that you've been trying to move forward but realize later on that you're still on the same exact spot? Well, I have, and it can be very frustrating at times but you don't have to be disheartened. Be patient... and pray. Things happen for a reason and they have their own perfect time. You'll just be surprised at how perfect things have fallen into place for you. Just you wait!

"When you feel like giving up, just remember the very reason why you held on for so long..."

Like what I've mentioned in my previous post ACHIEVEMENT UNLOCKED..., I used to be a very positive person. However, due to some circumstances I've gone through lately, I started to expect the worst every time I try to do something. Don't get me wrong, I still appreciate life, of course, but lately I've felt like maybe I was born at dusk because these past few months I only seem to see the darker side of things, of life, of everything. Although, when the clouds of confusion and doubt are gone, I realize that good things can still happen and has actually happened to me.

"Pessimism is a toxic energy, which constantly beats us up every day unless we do something to change it..."

Thankfully, after practicing the pause, I realized that having a negative perspective in things can be very unhealthy, so I decided to slowly but surely change my ways. It's not easy, trust me... but training yourself is a must to turn pessimism into optimism.

Here are some things you can do when negativity strikes:

  • Do not overthink
    Overthinking only creates more doubt. Try not to look too much into things; they may be only difficult and complicated inside your pretty head.

  • Focus on the possibilities
    Think of all the positive changes you can experience if you take a chance at something.

  • Let go of your fears
    I have to admit, I refuse to do some things not because I am afraid to do them. It's actually failure, rejection and embarrassment that I fear. But you have to bear in mind that you will never know what's in store for you if you don't give it a shot.

  • Surround yourself with people who will inspire and motivate you
    Spend time with your family, your friends, people who brings out the best in you. Get to know them more and don't forget to try to open yourself to them as well. You'll be surprised at the outcome.

  • List down the things that make you happy
    Make an actual list if you must... and focus on them!!!

  • Choose happiness
    Always choose to be happy... because life is too short to be spent with the wrong people or to mull over things or situations you can no longer change.

Focusing on the positive can make a huge difference in your life and the people around you.

Have a pause... Take a break... Pray... Breathe...

Then come back stronger...

Well, that's about it for now fellow Steemians <3 <3 <3

If you have anything else to add to my list, feel free to leave comments... See y'all...

Always,
@feimandcharm

Sort:  

This article literally made me pause and reflect. Thanks @feimandcharm

Thanks @raquelita,

Glad to hear you liked it... took me 2 hours to complete the post... hahahahahah... Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment... See you around..

Yes, see you soon!

I agree with this. I am a culprit to some of what you mentioned but its gteat to take time off and just see the possibilites again. Sometimes our mind is clouded when we are stressed when we just need to calm down

I know right? Sometimes, we just need to take one step back and look at the bigger picture... Life is actually very simple... It's us, people, who complicates it. Yes, life can be unfair and cruel at times, but know that it doesn't end there. There is so much more in this world we have yet to discover.

Thanks @josejirafa for taking a little time out of your busy (?) day to read this post and leave a comment... appreciate it...

Sound advice - we often forget to just step back and re-calibrate.

I completely agree... Thanks for dropping by and leaving your comment... appreciate it..

Good advice and post ate :)

AWWWW... @joancabz... ayg saba... took me 2 hours to complete this post.... thanks for the support...