"Ang Dakilang Manunulat"@artguildph contest #1 entry". (A digital Illustration dedicated for Philippines' National Hero)

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)


"He who does not love his own language is worse than an animal and smelly fish."

-Dr. Jose Rizal

This is just one of the famous lines that Dr. Jose P. Rizal, our beloved national hero, had imparted and engraved to every hearts of Filipino people. His words of wisdom, brought so much inspiration and greatly influence the lives of Filipinos in the past and today's present. These words that had been conceived by his great mind continue to flourish, even though he had already departed from this world.

Hello guys, I just want to share this amazing opportunity to Illustrate our Philippine National Hero. Let me share a little bit of my experience Illustrating this work and a little background of Dr. Jose Rizal past life. I will try my best to share, I'm not a historian or something but I will my really try my best to share everything through available resources about Dr. Jose Rizal.

Last week I saw this post a from @artguild about hosting a contest, where artists were given the chance to make a art/artwork dedicated or Dr. Jose Rizal as the subject. I really feel so excited that time, I mean my hands are very itchy and wants to make art work for Dr. Jose Rizal. I don't really want to miss this great opportunity. I'm not after the prize or what (just a bonus, not guaranteed ), but as a Filipino it's my chance to at least to give tribute and gratitude for our national hero, to make an art for him.

So I was little bit disappointed because after seeing/reading this post, a message poped up and then when I read it, there's a memo that we need to participate a workshop for five days (which is a whole day activity). The first thing that came into my mind is, how can I make Art work for Dr. Jose Rizal since I have a limited time only? So okay, I said to my self I'm gonna accept the situation. Maybe I can make artwork for him but I can't have it as an entry. The good thing is, (which I'm always thankful) I can always post my work dedicated to Dr. Jose Rizal anytime here in Steemit. So the bonus part, or I say lucky part, is the the contest is extended which I've read yesterday, btw, the yesterday is the last day of the workshop, so yeah! Now I can make a artwork for Dr. Jose Rizal and can also submit as entry. What I'm after about submitting an entry is, there is a "chance" that those who host the contest can or may share your entry, which is a good news, so that many people will see the massage of my art.

I think I've already said a lot, let me share my work to you. The title is "Ang Dakilang Manunulat" ("the great writer"). Hope you like it

-Ang Dakilang Manunulat



Dr-JR-final.png

Doing this artwork brought so much pride to me, even thou you might say "Oh, it's not that great, very simple". But I can proudly say that I've created this with so much pride as a Filipino and illustrated it with a so much awe and I mean this is really something special to me. Creating a artwork for a someone that serves a great factor of where and what you are right now, is really a great opportunity to me.

As I've said earlier I will a share little bit of background for those who don't know that much about our National Hero, let's start, his life is really broad study, I've made my research but I can't share everything to you, but at least some important things about him.

About Dr. Jose Rizal


Early Life

Jose Rizal was born on June 19, 1861, in Calamba,Philippines,

download (1).jpg
one of the 11 children of Francisco Engracio Rizal Mercado y Alejandro and Teodora Morales Alonso y Quintos. He later adopted a shorter version of his name, Jose Rizal. His family was very prosperous. Actually guys he has a lot of names yeah, a lot of names. His real full name is José Protasio Rizal Mercado y Alonso Realonda.

image source

-He studied at Ateneo de Municipal de Manila and graduated with a degree in Land Surveying and Assessment in 1877.

-He had so much love and fascinated in arts and thus he went to the Faculty of Arts and Letters for a degree in Philosophy at the University of Santo Tomas.

-What motivated and pushed him to specialize ophthalmology is his mother slowly becoming blind that time. He then enrolled at the Faculty of Medical Sciences at University of Santo Tomas in 1878

-He went to Spain and pursue his studies and Universidad Central de Madrid where he earned degree in medicine in 1884.

-After he completed another degree in Philosophy and Letter in Universidad Central de Madrid a year after

-He really crave for knowledge and and went to France to deepen more his knowledge about ophthalmology at the
He had an insatiable thirst for knowledge and went to France to further his knowledge of ophthalmology at the University of Heidelberg. He completed his eye specialization in 1887 under the authorship and mentorship of the famous professor Otto Becker.

Major Works

Dr. Jose Rizal is known for his writings. What is really great about him is, and one of the reason why he's our National Hero is, he fought for revolution through his writings. It shows how words can impact and stir every lives of Filipinos or those oppressor through his writing. He is a great example of what and how a great and powerful mind can be, to start a revolution and make a change.

image source
-One of his famous writings is 'Noli me Tangere', In 1887, while studying medicine in the Universidad Central de Madrid, he wrote the novel ‘Noli Me Tangere’. He harshly criticized the Spanish colonial rule in Philippines and wrote of the injustices and brutalities suffered by the native people. His novel was banned by the government due to its scathing contents.

-In 1887, while studying medicine in the Universidad Central de Madrid, he wrote the novel ‘Noli Me Tangere’. He harshly criticized the Spanish colonial rule in Philippines and wrote of the injustices and brutalities suffered by the native people. His novel was banned by the government due to its scathing contents.

-He had been exposed to the problematic life under the Spanish government and was aware of the difficulties experienced by the Filipinos. He became the leader of the reform movement of Filipino students in Spain and wrote several articles and essays in the Spanish newspaper ‘La Solidaridad’.

-He believed that Philippines was struggling with the twin problems of corrupt friars and bad government. Ideas of progressive ideals, peaceful reforms, individual rights and rights for the Filipino people formed the foundation of his writings.

-The main focus of the reforms he advocated were freedom of assembly and speech, representation in the legislature, equal rights before the law for both Filipinos and Spanish, and that the Philippines be a province of Spain. However, the colonial authorities did not favor these reforms.

-In 1891, his second novel ‘El Filibusterismo’ was published as a sequel to his first novel. The novel dealt with dark and violent themes that were considerably different from the theme of its predecessor. The novel profoundly impacted the Philippine society’s views about national identity and was banned in some parts of the country for its portrayal of the Spanish government’s corruption.

source

Some Super Hero story doesn't have always have a happy ending, but their legacy and heroism will be forever remembered in every hearts.

Execution and Legacy

-In 1895, Rizal asked for permission to travel to Cuba as an army doctor. His request was approved, but in August 1896, Katipunan, a nationalist Filipino society founded by Andres Bonifacio, revolted. Though he had no ties to the group, and disapproved of its violent methods, Rizal was arrested shortly thereafter.

-After a show trial, Rizal was convicted of sedition and sentenced to death by firing squad. Rizal's public execution was carried out in Manila on December 30, 1896, when he was 35 years old. His execution created more opposition to Spanish rule.

-Spain's control of the Philippines ended in 1898, though the country did not gain lasting independence until after World War II. Rizal remains a nationalist icon in the Philippines for helping the country take its first steps toward independence.

source

My Insights

Without Dr. Jose Rizal's great act and courage and to those heroes who fought for freedom, maybe we won't experiencing the liberty and Independence we are enjoying right now. What they did is something that we should we owe be always thankful of, and as Filipino, it is something we need to always give importance and respect. The best thing we can repay for their sacrifices and bravery is to make our country a place worth living, taking good care of it, being a responsible and a good citizen. So that the future generation will still enjoy and the product, the freedom and liberty that Dr. Jose Rizal and Filipino Heroes had fought for.

So here's a process and explanation on how I did my work

Colors:

The colors I've used here is under the shade of colors present in Philippine Flag

a horizontal "blue" stripe signifies for peace, truth, and justice.


BLUE.png


a horizontal red stripe signifies patriotism and valor.

RED.png

Artwork Breakdown


Dr-JR-final.jpg

br.jpg

So here's a detailed Process

First is I look for a reference photo and I found this one, and after that I immediately import on Adobe Illustrator CC

1.png

Tip when you save, always make a folder so that you wont be lost in finding your works

0.png

after that I start tracing using pentool, I always start from the outer outline

2.png

after I'm done with the outline, I start then with the inner ones

3.png

4.png

So this how it look likes when reference photo's layer is being hide

5.png

Next is making the eyes, mouth, etc

6.png

then hair

7.png

Next is, start with tracing the darkest possible shadow of the subject

8.png

hiding the reference layer

9.png

working on it...

10.png

11.png

Just to share, why I chose this image as reference? The reason behind it is the angle and composition of the image. In our class the angle or camera shot that best suit for a hero or something in authority is the worms eye view, I don't know what other calls it. Because there's a great effect when you try portrait using this angle, it gives so much feeling of heroism. Because of the if you put it on your point of view, it's like your looking the image from below. That gives a perfect effect of you looking up to someone, someone bigger than you.

12.png

after I'm done with the darkest shade of shadow, I start filling up the base color

13.png

14.png

Btw, I used darker level of colors with the Dr. Jose Rizal's shirt. The challenge for here is, since the the reference photo is a monument, I tried my best to make it look as real.

15.png

Next is adding different color, shade of red. What I love here is the contrast and combination of warm and cool color, present in the artwork

16.png

17.png

Zooming out, looks good :D

18.png

Next thing I did is adding the highlights, I've used color yellow, since this color is also present to Philippine Flag, and I think it really blends well

19.png

20.png

almost complete!

21.png

Next is I've added a gradient background

22.png

then, I've added Dr. Jose Rizal's famous monument, located at the Rizal Park

23.png

Then I've illustrated a feather pen to represent Dr. Jose Rizal as a writer and the revolution he did through his writings, I've used shade of white here.

24.png

and the three starts found on Philippine flag.

25.png

lastly, I've imported the unfinished work to Photoshop cc to add some vignette and adjust some levels and curves with.

26.png

I saved a color reference here, which you can use if you want to.

colors.jpg

So that's it! thanks for visiting my blog post guys! I hope you've learned something. Have a nice day ahead!

And you can also check this awesome bloggers ✍

@mikaelasinsuat4
@dandalion
@qyugmo
@ishanvirtue
@ediah
@jgonzalez2134
@looserwin
@kennik

Please do support

@slothicorn
@sndbox
@surpassinggoogle
@steemgigs
@steemph
@stateofthearts
@steemitachievers
@steemitfamilyph
@artzone

DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Hello @jeeuuzz!

Thank you for crafting an amazing blog that exhibit Philippines' unique Culture and Tradition.

With that, we're greatful we have chosen this blog to be featured and upvoted by @onerace to empower impactful Philippines' Culture and Tradition blogs.

Feel free to click the post :

https://steemit.com/onerace/@onerace/onerace-update-may-23-may-24-2018-empowering-filipino-culture-and-tradition

footer.png

Thank you so much @onerace, I do really apprecaite you for featuring and recognizing my work. Yeah this is one of the best thing I can as an artist and as a Filipino.