Why you SHOULDN'T visit the Philippines πŸ‡΅πŸ‡­

in #philippines β€’ 7 years ago (edited)

If you found out about the Philippines, you probably heard about our President.

In the past, when I tell people I meet that I am from the Philippines, they will usually say "Ohhh Manny Pacquiao".

Recently, it was all about President Duterte, "Does he do the killing?", "Is it safe in the Philippines?"

It was the same question I got when I met this new friend in Japan. She is thinking of going for a vacation, but kinda hesitant because of what she reads on the internet.

To make her help with the decision, I enumerated things why she shouldn't visit the Philippines.

1. Too Many Islands

The Philippines has 7,641 Islands. There's too much to explore. You will get tired of hiking to the most beautiful mountain you will ever see. And you don't have a choice but to do a boat hoping to visit the secluded beaches that have white sand and beautiful sunsets.

As much as you want to visit all the islands, you just don't have the time. Isn't that sad?

I don't want you to be sad, so don't visit the Philippines.

2. Everything is too cheap

Your $1 USD is equivalent to 50 pesos, and that could buy a meal or a piece of clothing at the night market. It is too cheap that you will go on shopping all night, and you end up going home with extra baggage. You will have a hard time trying to decide what color of dress would suit you, so you ended up getting all 5 colors.

I would hate to see you bringing all these stuff on both hands, so don't visit the Philippines.

3. Almost everyone can speak English

You will not get lost and have a hard time finding places to go to because you can ask anyone. That won't be exciting isn't? Like being able to be friends with everyone because you can converse pretty well.

You will get so many Facebook friend request right after because you've gained so many friends.

You would hate that Filipinos love social media that they pop into your chat box and send you a bunch of pictures they took with you.

You wouldn't want so many friends that would care for you, so don't visit the Philippines.

4. Food that is so tasty

Filipino food is known to have one of the tastiest in the World. They know how to work on the flavorings, and they aren't afraid to make you fat. Yeah, they will feed you until you can no longer breathe.

So don't visit the Philippines

5. Filipinos smile a lot

You will be out of place if you are the kind of person that is grumpy. It's either that, or you end up being infected by the happy virus.

By the time you go back to your country, your parents will find it weird that you aren't moody like you used to.

You wouldn't want your parents to worry about you, so don't visit the Philippines.

6. You don't want to leave

Once you fall in love with the Philippines, it will never go away. And it will break your heart into tiny pieces when you need to leave.

You will bring all the memories, and you will be sad to leave the friends you met.

It will be hard to go, it feels like leaving a piece of yourself.

So I told my friend not to visit the Philippines.

But she still did.

And now she is experiencing the separation anxiety and can't wait to go back.


all gif are from giphy.com

FOLLOW @marypineda for more Philippines related posts


PREVIOUS POSTS

About Me

You can live to be a Butterfly, or you can focus on being a Snail

Want To Step Up Your Filipino Food Adventure?

Five Reasons Why I Love Steemit

Philippine Fifty-Word Story Writing Contest, "Batang Kalye".

6 Harsh Truths That Will Make You Want To Reconsider Your Job

YOU are Someone's Inspiration

Sort: Β 

I'm going to Davao in June. I'm very looking forward to everything you told me will happen and more because there's a wedding too.
Aloha!

Oh wow, Davao is so beautiful! Definitely, go to Mati and Samal Island. You will love it there for sure.

U got it. Definitely definitely!

Great post, a different way to promote the Philippines. Keep up the good work! Cheers.

Glad you like it! :)
Love promoting the Philippines!

Creative twist

wow si idol! Thank you @surpassinggoogle :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @marypineda to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Very nice idea! :D

Thank you for your unending support in all my posts

Nice one
Its a kind of interesting putting that kind of title..

Always share your steemit story in facebook, I just find it there
And I read them

Oh wow, I thought no one looks at facebook posts. Thanks for the tip.

And thank you for reading, glad that you like the style of writing :)

I am from Scotland in the UK but my girlfriend is from Jao Island in Bohol Phillipines.Your post has me more excited to visit there soon :)

Hey there!

Oh my goodness, you are lucky to have a filipina girlfriend. Bohol is so nice, you could visit the chocolate hills

and the loboc river

pictures taken from google

I am sure you will love the Filipino culture, the food, and the scenery!

She forgot the tiniest animal in the world...the tarsiers.

oh yeah, those cuties :)

Went there once to meet my wife's family.... it's all true. I think the smile part is an understatement because they love to laugh! :)

Where are you from? Yeah, filipinos loves to life a life of happiness. They are happy with just being together. And they welcome everyone to be part of the family.

You are always welcome to come back!

Β 7 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

She's from Quezon City. ...Happy being together is right. The welcome feeling and joy is contagious.

....thank you, would love to go back some day...

I agree with that! I am happy to know that you love my country and the people :)

...I do!!
I think I'll follow you and see what more fun I can have reading your posts.

Thank you! I will make sure not to disappoint you with my posts! :)

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Nice!!! ang ganda ng gawa mo ma'am!!!

maraming salamat po :)

Gawa ka pa ng ganito maam!!

nag iisip nga ako ng bagong isusulat.. may gusto ka bang itanong? sagutin ko na lang as a blog :)

ano naman maam yung mga exotic street foods sa ph.

pwede... I will write about it. will post in after an hour, tag kita sa comments :)

proud to be a Filipino! galing....

That's it I'm going to the Philippines!!! See you all there.

Oh cool! Where will you go specifically? Lots of beautiful places to choose from.

Taal Volcano to start. Sorry for the late response, life has been crazy lately for me.

We all have to deal with adulting ;) Glad to have you back. Taal Volcano is amazing! Been there before.

Never! hahaha

Inggit lang ng mga wala sa Pilipinas!!!

Parang tayo? haha. Kailan last mong uwi?

Mas madali ka makauwe lola..pero Europe is maganda. Pwede ka dito para maikot mo. Madame annual leave dito sa UK.

oo nga eh. nag try nako for france, na deny visa ako, hahaha. kaya ayoko muna mag try ulit, medyo mahal and dami documents. kaloka

Mga visa reqt talaga ang hassle, medyo strikto. Dito sa booking.com ako kumukuha ng accomodations before to show sa embassy, kc pwede sya cancel if di matuloy ang visa.
Try that.

Love this! There are a lot of things to love here in the Philippines and I couldn't be more proud ❀

I have to agree with this! Proud to be a filipino, and proud of our country ❀

I love the title and the way it's written. Congratulations! :)

Thank you so much. Appreciate that :)

@islandliving, I went to Davao last December and went to a coffee shop. Our luggage were at the back of the pickup told our friend to put it inside and she told us it is okay nobody will take it.....really the safest city in Philippines people are very disciplined u cannot smoke there and throw your cigarette butt once caught u have to eat it even the vendors will tell u to pick up Davao is very clean as well people are very helpful! I am proud that our President is DU30!

This is reverse psychology I can feel it from the start and then I realize that I knew it I knew it I knew it..
You love the Philippines..
I see what you've done there, very clever..
were from Paranaque and Cebu.. both place are exciting.. n_n

hahaha! Yeah, it's kinda tricky. But yeah, you will love the country so much it will be too painful to leave. Beautiful places! Cebu is definitely a great place to bring a tourist friend!