A Game of Sungka

Sungka

This was a game I would always play as a child. That intricate board made of wood and lots of small sea shells or washed and dried tamarind seeds. I often play this with my cousins since they're the ones who has the game set, the only thing that we have at home is a wooden chess board set.


Source

You have to start Sungka with 49 game pieces (these can be shells, pebbles, marbles, or seeds) that will be equally distributed to alternate holes - which is seven pieces in every other hole - except the ones at both ends (may be called 'bases') which will remain empty. This game needs two players. Each player will controls the holes on his side of the board and also the "head" to his right. The winner will be the person with the most game pieces accumulated in his "base".

Example: I'm the first player.

I will remove all the pieces from the hole on my left-most side. I will then distribute them counter-clockwise - dropping one in each hole to the right of that hole --- but not in an opponent's "base" but I'll need to drop one on my "base".

If my last piece falls into a hole with game pieces in it, I'll need to get all the pieces from that hole, and distribute them again in the same way (to the right of that hole) starting another round. My turn only ends when the last piece falls into an empty hole on my opponent's side.


http://www.jenniferhallock.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/825x510xSungka-Boys-SM.jpg.pagespeed.ic.VyS920YSrs.jpg

Further instructions on how to play the game can be found here: Please Click.

You can even play a Sungka Android game here.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Congratulations @philippinetrail! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!