Mabini Philippines diving; just another reason why I love being in the Philippines

in #philippines6 years ago

Scuba diving is one of my passion-hobbies. While I haven't been able to do much recently, several years ago I would be diving at least every couple of months, either in the Philippines or in Japan.

One spot I love is Mabini. Being an easy couple of hours drive from Manila, Mabini is well know for dive resorts and more specifically for Muck Diving. This is diving and finding very small creatures.
Please note; these photos are all mine, taken in the waters of Mabini.

148696_10152240076100474_5028908357866756818_n (1).jpg

I am fascinated by Clown Fish. They live in sea anenome which protects them from predators. Clown Fish are very territorial and will protect its "home". In this photo, you see a Clown Fish that was not happy to see me. It actually followed my direction and guarded its home against me. I wish I could have communicated to it that I was just passing by and was not a threat.

10577110_10152240079035474_421198540811136082_n.jpg

You can see the white and blue Nudi Branch. I am not crazy about them, but my guide, who is a local to Mabini, was an expert in finding them. They are slow-moving and colourful, but not too exciting. Some people love photographing Nudi Branches.

10615540_10152240078775474_6144047092115642534_n.jpg

This little guy is a Mantis Shrimp. You can hear them from a distance because the like to bang their front legs on rock and attract attention. They are allusive and I was fortunate to take a photo of one. They have individually moving eyes, and they have a green-body and red/yellow coloured legs.

10580027_10152240074175474_106288564259798271_n.jpg

This is the worst of the predators of the sea; the human. Able to destroy eco-systems if they are not careful, and eliminate whole species. This particular human cares about his oceans and would not harm ocean creatures. He prefers to eat land animals rather than ocean creatures. HAHA.

10418305_10152240075335474_1710143482039974146_n.jpg

This final shot has my dive guide looking for something miniature to take photos of. There was an abundance of life in the coral, and the overall experience of Mabini diving was terrific. When I return to the Philippines, I would go back to Mabini.

Tell me about your diving stories; have you dived in Mabini/Anilao? If so, where did you go? I would love to hear more!

WANT MORE UPVOTES?
Join the @gratefulvibes family curation trail
Info at this link: GV Family Trail


Sort:  

Wow! I'm so afraid of scuba diving but I love seeing your photos! It must be amazing to explore the underwater world! Thank you for sharing!

There is nothing to be afraid of if you do the proper training. But if you are worried about being in water, I can understand. Some people just enjoy going to 5-10 meters depth. That way, there is no compression stop, and you can float to the water surface (as long as you breath properly) without stopping. There is so much sea life within the 10 meter depth, as most resorts have a beach dive and so the depths can be shallower. I love 5-10 meter dives for beginners. So much coral and sea life to see!

I'm actually afraid of being in deep water but my husband tries to convince me to go snorkling..

I might try and give it a go! I love watching documentaries about sea life but seeing it in real must be an amazing experience! 5 - 10 meters doesn't sound that bad!

Thank you for coming back to me!

I think part of your anxiousness may be in idea of going deep. I think you would really enjoy the 5-10 meter depth. As I mentioned, its much easier for new divers since assent can be done quickly. Perhaps that is the main fear for people is that they go deep and worry about assent. Honestly saying, I had a bit of a scare with a friend who dived with me and another buddy. She was going up and down in depth due to very erratic currents. We were in 15-25 meter depth and the currents moved (pushed) her up quickly and then deeper quickly. She came out of the water properly but suffered somewhat from sickness. I don't know if it was decompression sickness, but it was not normal.

Don't tell me stories like that as I will never start, lol!

I hope she got well quickly!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

You just planted 0.14 tree(s)!


Thanks to @steventemplar

We have planted already 3383.18 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 39462.67
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

I've tried scuba diving just once. But it was amazing! I really liked it. It's like being in a Cousteau 's movie :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @steventemplar! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!