Ethics on the Information highway, a humane approach.

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

I've got a story to tell, I just don't know what it is yet.

Your probably familiar with it, although when pushed, you might deny any understanding?
It’s a story about being vulnerable, about the mistakes you made, and the one's your yet to make.
It's about those times you felt like you failed, or were wrong, or that you did wrong.
It's the hardest story to tell, the things that you don't even want to admit to yourself.
I understand.
I voluntarily reserve judgement.
I grant you the right to have made mistakes.

The story I could tell is my own and, I guess, I won't bore you with mine.
Your story tells you the same, and it matters more to you then it does to hear mine.
I tell you in all honesty that if you don't know what I'm talking about, if you haven't felt like you disappointed yourself as of yet, you will.
Do you think you have everything together, in place, ready to face everything, til the end?
Really?
We all have our story. We all have our moments when we fail.

Being a decent human being isn't about always doing well, or doing right, or being successful, or being the best at everything.
It's not about the number of likes, or 'upvotes', or popularity, or success.
Being a decent human being is about learning from your mistakes and its also about giving other people the opportunity to learn from theirs.

I say this is one of the perils of our time for we inhabit an interconnected World where things become hashtags and they go viral all of a moment.
While many the cause has merit we do ourselves justice when we reserve judgement and act in fairness.


XKCD

Cheers.