You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Millennials, Minimalisim, and a Can Opener

in #philosophy7 years ago

Hey! I just saw this post (my bot voted for it; apparently it has good taste).

I'm at the older end of the millennial generation, and I'm always happy to see someone respectable saying something positive about our generation. :) I love a ton of the things that our generation is doing - you mention a bunch of them. Things like our wholesale rejection of the cookie-cutter manufactured-everything world that we were born into, our need for quality over quantity, and the value we place on craft.

Anyway, just thought I'd drop a little hello. And for what it's worth, I bought my first house at 25 and it didn't tie me down at all. 2 years after I bought it, I quit my job and moved to Colorado just for fun, and didn't get another job until a year later. I was able to rent out the house and never lost a cent on it. Just so you know. ;)

Sort:  

Thank you @biophil. Glad to hear a house didn't tie you down. Maybe that's something I'll have to reconsider for my next move. I'd love to take a year off and travel, but at least for now I'm stuck working due to uncertainties about health care.