Are we afraid of dying or not existing anymore??

in #philosophy8 years ago (edited)

                                         


  Die, or not to exist anymore? Fear of death is, it is commonly assumed, the deepest fear and one of the engines of human behavior. The observation of the world leads me to formulate the question, the basic fear of the individual, is it dying, or not to exist?    

                                                                 

Humans devote great energy to exist as an individual and to flee the idea of not existing. That their life has not left traces, that's unbearable to most. Many human activities, including the most extreme, are guided by the vertigo of empty and obsession to feel that we exist.    


                              


Death frightens perhaps less as passage because it seems abrupt end this question, she enrolled in the time duration, limited by nature - and this limit arises anxiety. The fear of death is related to an anxious attachment to "self". The serene dead are instead accompanied by the intuition of a self-realization, or the result of a self-denial. Forgive the form and the absence of reference, not having great philosophical culture alas, I make this question as it appeared to me. How do you see this issue? 


Sort:  

I defiantly fear non existence over death. To some death is just a new beginning on the long passage of their existence. For some it's heaven for others it's reincarnation. Even while being raised Catholic , I'm still not sure what I believe. I don't have kids yet so this may factor in but I do truly fear the silence of non existence. Thanks for the post, got me thinking, as long as it's not right before bed I'm good with it haha