You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Everything's Gonna Be Okay"

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

I think what we consider to be real is dictated by the mind.

Nothing is real.

I question whether anyone could truly perceive the world as it is without rising above linguistic protocols that operate in the mind - and it's very difficult to do that for an extended period of time.

Self-realization rises above linguistic protocals and it's close to reality since it is only consciousness alone with no thoughts but I tend to think that Reality (nothing) lacks consciousness.

  • Reality (nothing) is aware of reality (nothing).

Eventually in a person's or being's journey, nothing becomes more important than everything.

Language is a set of beliefs, and it is constantly trying to define everything for us

Language, beliefs, words, ideas, thoughts & experiences are all meaningless with no value or purpose (including this).

  • Nothing is in control.

P.S. We might have a lot in common @lordless.exile 😀

Sort:  

As long as you are focused on beliefs, and in firming up those beliefs to believe even more, you are experiencing the world of your mind, not reality.

Perhaps it is to do with language, but you don't make a lot of sense to me. You seem to think that nothing is real but that there is somehow also a way to escape what the mind dictates as real and notice something that really is real?

Becoming more aware of the meaningless and insignificance of every thing, especially my own thoughts, ideas and senses, reduces my suffering and the suffering I cause others to such an extent that I think it's practical to consider the possibility that:

  1. Nothing is real.

"Becoming more aware of the meaningless and insignificance of everything.."

It is your choice to "become aware" of the meaningless and insignificance or everything, and it is a natural progression of that choice to question whether anything is real, and to consider everything meaningless and insignificant.

I've said before that as much as we like to pretend we are rational beings, and that logic is used to discern truth, it is far more often the case that we use our faculties of logic to establish convincing reasons to keep believing that which we've already chosen to believe.

You've already chosen to believe nothing is real. This you have said, and far more definitively, in several comments. So when explaining why you feel this way, you should ask yourself if "becoming aware of the meaningless and insignificance of everything" is a product of honest observation or a selective interpretation of what you are seeing.

The answer is to be found in asking the question, how are you becoming aware of this?

I encourage you to do this, because believing or even strongly suspecting that nothing is real is not a reason to cause less suffering to others. It is certainly a reason to be blind towards the suffering you're causing, because the understanding that it's not real anyway is a great incentive not to look close enough at the choices you are making, and how those choices effect others.

It makes far more sense from my perspective, that believing the suffering others are experiencing is real, would inspire one to cause less of it.

I encourage you to do this, because believing or even strongly suspecting that nothing is real is not a reason to cause less suffering to others. It is certainly a reason to be blind towards the suffering you're causing, because the understanding that it's not real anyway is a great incentive not to look close enough at the choices you are making, and how those choices effect others.

My wife had a YouTube channel on Emafe.com and she will start it again soon. Then you can view our life and observe if I am creating suffering or not.

It makes far more sense from my perspective, that believing the suffering others are experiencing is real, would inspire one to cause less of it.

The cause of suffering is ignorance, and ignorance is perceiving meaning where there is none (read my profile on Steemit, you might be surprised with what it says 👍)

I already viewed your profile and was not surprised at all by what I found. You are right to say ignorance causes suffering, and naive to think that you are not creating suffering yourself. Simply by participating in money, in society, in consumerism - you are causing suffering.

Suffering is meaningless.. it's just a thought but believing in its strength increases its strength and increases suffering.

Having said that.. these words are equally meaningless.

It makes far more sense from my perspective, that believing the suffering others are experiencing is real, would inspire one to cause less of it.

I also think you are off to a wrong start by trying to prevent, reduce & eliminate the suffering of others when there is a high probability that you haven't even eliminated your own suffering.

I'd rather lead by example by eliminating my own suffering first!!

And how can suffering hurt or affect me if all of the suffering that arises in me is simply an uncaused illusion with no actual meaning, purpose, power, influence, cause or strength?

Disclaimer: These words of mine are completely meaningless with no power, cause, strength or affect.. but if you perceive meaning in them, your mind is creating it's own ideas, interpretations and fabrications based on what you want to see, sense, experience & possess.

I am sorry but I don't think I can talk to you anymore. I have really tried, but either you are the spiritual master you clearly believe yourself to be, and are so much wiser than I that I can't even comprehend what you are talking about half the time; or, you are delusional, and cannot understand yourself well enough to see how blind you are. I do not know which one it is, but it makes no difference at this point. You cannot keep making contradictions and then justify it by saying your words are meaningless. As I have said before, if you believed words were meaningless, you wouldn't be making such an effort to use your words to try and teach others your perspective. The irony is that you seem to think yourself so far down the path that you're almost beyond your ego but I perceive you entirely as a character, and I see the effort you put into retaining the opinion of yourself - that you're a spiritual teacher. I do wish you the best - though I suppose to you that means nothing at all because nothing has any meaning.

No worries @lordless.exile thank you for taking the time to discuss ideas with me.

Good luck in your search for meaning, value, worth, happiness & satisfaction 👍