You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: THE NEW MANHOOD!!! – Thoughts and Considerations on Raising the Next Generation

in #philosophy7 years ago

A lot of what you've said here is true....You can raise your kids to be responsible and have values but when they live on their own away from your influence they can and might do things their own way - regardless of how you raise them - they have free will.

I agree it is the parent's responsibility to train up a child in the way they should go but it doesn't guarantee the child will stick to that training. What goes on in their hearts and minds becomes evident later on when they exercise that free will.

You know the bliblical story of the two sons, one said yes and did not do the Father's will and the other said no but did do the Father's will. An example of heart condition and will in play.

Regardless of the outcome, your children deserve your full attention and training. And parenting is tough, the toughest job ever.

How do I know? I've raised 3.

Sort:  

Yeah, it's a very tough job, and I'm still getting started.

At least those taught responsibilities and values will have a better foundation.

After I read @trevor.george 's reply to you I felt like my reply was kind of negative....I honestly didn't mean for it to sound like that. I like how @trevor.george said it. Teaching and guiding them to make wise choices to find those other good jelly beans is a kinder and a less preachy way of what I was trying to say....also I was speaking from my own experience. I taught all of mine responsibilities, values, Godly principles but....they all went their own way in the end, not a believer in the bunch. Perhaps I spewed a bit of bitterness....I'm sorry.

That is a hard reality to face, and it can be a touchy subject. Not everything in life is positive, and you mostly just expressed reality. No need to apologize, as your comment did not offend me (and even if it did, I would just forgive and move on anyway) and I hope that my post did not offend you. As long as they are still alive, there is still opportunity for them to choose differently. We will be praying for them, all 6 of us!

Thanks....that will be a sweet picture in my mind - all 6 of you. And no, your post didn't offend me either. Such tender hearts we have.