You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BACKWARDS WORLD: Today diversity instead means conformity...

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Hi Deva! Another great post on your part. I have been increasingly defining the social justice movement as a belief system in my recent posts on the topic, but maybe I should just go for religion. You are right about how it has many of the same characteristics, though maybe cult might be even more appropriate. I will have to think on that one.

I particularly liked your reference to what you can or can't say. That reminded me of one of Ron Paul's favorite quotes "Truth is treason in the empire of lies". I happen to have seen all of the videos you posted today, all of which are almost mandatory viewing for the current climate.

Paul J Watson is one of my favorite rabble rousers in the ongoing culture wars. I have been watching the escalating censorship on YT for about two years now - it really kicked off leading up to the 2016 elections. I was certain if the '16 election ended differently it was doomsday for the alt media, but I admit I wasn't anticipating the left continuing to crack down and even escalating after Trump won. Though it does make sense now.

This only highlights what I commented in one of your recent posts that we really need a non-censored mass adopted video platform right quick. I'm not a programmer, but it seems it wouldn't be that hard to make a platform, it is the adoption that is a problem, that and money for storage and bandwidth. But then again, I am not that up on computer stuff.

I posted yet again on this topic today with Frankenstein's Monster, Social Justice and Higher Education and one I think you may have missed a few days ago Conformity is Diversity - Thought Police on Campus. Would be honored if you took a look. Upvoted and resteemed!

Sort:  

though maybe cult might be even more appropriate

Cult works too... I personally believe the only thing that separates a cult from religion is QUANTITY of people and societal acceptance.

So for me they are ideologically the same type of construct.

I vote for the word "CULT".

Really CULT and RELIGION only have two differences.

  1. They become accepted by the culture/government.
  2. They are larger and that is likely why number 1 happened.

Otherwise, I see no distinct difference between the word CULT and RELIGION. In fact, virtually every religion I am aware of started out considered a CULT.

I see a cult as an interest followed with an exaggerated zeal. It can for be anything: both religious or not.

If you study history that actually describes the early days of virtually every religion. :) They actually were often called a CULT for some time.