You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY DEFINITION: Who are the 0.01%? If we're going to deal with them they must be defined.

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

I believe that the following video containing a speech by Larry Lessig is instructive in identifying the "0.01%", but I think that the oppressive minority is closer to 0.02%:

I too, have pondered this question, and I no longer believe that it is possible to dislodge them from the top. I believe that an entire generation of kids must be raised to respect others. I really do think it's as simple as that.

The old guard will die off and be replaced by kids who have been raised in such a manner. How do we do this? I believe that two books by Dr. Ross W. Greene answer this question:

The Explosive Child
Raising Human Beings

Both books describe a way of interacting with kids as parents and caregivers in such a way that we do not impose our will upon our kids. I believe that Dr. Greene's ideas are consistent with Anarchists (and maybe many others) idea that power must always be justified by those who hold power.

Dr. Greene says that instead of arbitrarily imposing our will upon kids when they fail to meet our expectations, we collaborate with our kids to help them acquire the skills they need to meet said expectations.

This approach helps parents retain influence with their kids but also holds the rights of kids in high regard. Collaboration shows kids that problem solving is a team effort.

This idea, which can probably be found in other places I know not yet, presupposes the idea that real change comes from the bottom. And that means our kids. With a worldwide generation of kids erring on the side of peace and collaboration, it will be hard for the 0.02% to retain effective control.

Anyway, this is just a suggestion and my two cents. As you can see, you got me thinking with your article.

Sort:  

Oh I agree that whatever we DO about it won't be a fast fix. It'd likely take generations.