You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Online free philosophy resources and an idea for future contests

Hey Samuel, I get the feeling I'm going to find something to geek about on all of your posts. Don't feel obliged to humor my rants haha :)

Peter Sjostedt-H!!! I just started following his work, I think I found him maybe 2 months or so ago. I am loving his ideas. He is one of these rare philosophers who is taking the time and care to communicate to the public in an accessible fashion (his Twitter is absolute fire). I've been downloading all his stuff from academia.edu it's been so helpful.

Recently I'm trying to get better acquainted with contemporary panpsychism. My thinking has been converging on a view I'd have to describe as being some variant which led me to Whitehead which led me to Peter.

My intuition is that there is a trove of insights in the philosophy of organism/process philosophy or whatever you want to call the Whiteheadian-panpsychist ontology. I think I've found a topic for the next contest you host!

Sort:  

Geek away man!

Yeah, contemporary panpsychism can be a bit tricky in places, but I think it has real potential as a theory. I first got into it when reading the latter chapters of The Conscious Mind, as Chalmers goes on a bit of a speculative tangent - that he's since developed a bit further. (Side note - Chalmers and Sjostedt-H - now there's two philosophers I'd like to put in a room together to see what happens!) I've been thinking I need to go back to some of the earlier things I read about it, before coming back to Noumenautics.

Hmmmm, what is it like to be a blockchain?