You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can I really be myself? Am I free to do so?

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Can you give me an example of what you wanted to do, say, create, share, but didn't - due to social norms or similar inhibitors?

Once I saw a really cool and old but still perfect top hat on a second hand market. I thought about buying it and wearing it because I thought it would suit me.

The 2nd hand market was there three days and I looked at the hat on all three days and it didn't leave my mind, because if I bought it I knew I would wear it all the time, but with a top hat everyone sees you. You stand out so much that you can't swim in the mass anymore. That's why I haven't bought it at the end. It's a pity. I'm still thinking about it. I like top hats. They make you both representative and they are a sign of respect towards others who see it.

Sort:  

Thank you for the vivid example.

What I can tell you is that a top hat would go totally cool with a @doodlebear nickname! : )

Of all the hats of history the top-hat perhaps had the longest run. Abe Lincoln wore a top-hat and top-hats were still worn up until the 1920s. Fashion is meant to be fun. Strange how it takes on ominous groupthink overtones that prevent us from having that fun.

Yes, top-hat was Abraham Lincoln's trademark. : )

In my opinion, diversity and tolerance = fun and happiness.