You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Truth is a liar's invention." A Reading for happy Skepticism.

in #philosophy4 years ago

Nothing to forgive :)

No, I did not explore the oedipal complex with her.

It was more that I saw the obstacles that the client saw as negative for her conceived plan, not as fateful or falling from the sky, but as ones chosen by herself. I merely confirmed to her that she preferred everything else - procrastinated - to what she wanted my support for. It was as if someone wanted help cleaning his apartment and instead put wine and cheese on the table to have a nice conversation. My statement could be read as something like, "Okay. Let's have wine and cheese, because cleaning really doesn't seem like something you want to do." If she objected and said, "But I do want to clean," I'd say, "Really? But where are the bucket and the rags?" Whereupon she tried to convince me that what she had in mind was more important than what she was actually doing. Which led to the question: "But why do you insist on cleaning when everything else seems so much more meaningful to you?"

Thanks for stopping by.