You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "Truth is a liar's invention." A Reading for happy Skepticism.

in #philosophy4 years ago

:) Thanks, that was fun. I did the test and read your result as well as mine. It's inspiring to do those things and I like to play with the presented ideas. Though ...

I would suggest it differently: depending on the company, the professional environment, the private sphere, the public sphere, and the current quality and expertise of the person I meet, I can assume any character that I think has the best potential for the situation, depending on the person or persons with whom I am currently in contact.

Insofar as I have committed myself to a certain role (for example, because I hope for something from it), I am perceived by my fellow world in a situational way. Self-perception and the perception of others fluctuates because it changes when I meet friends, my family or colleagues or strangers in public.

My so-called character is perceived differently by children than by my peers, differently by animals than by people, differently by older people than myself, etc. For some I am inexperienced and naive in some areas, for others I am competent and self-confident.

It is different again when I am alone or in the forest, by the sea or on a mountain. For those who want to see a certain character in me, I have a particularly clear character, and a less clear character for those who do not fixate on it. For those I myself want to appear as a certain character, it is the same as just mentioned.

I can be introverted, just like extroverted, quiet, like loud, iridescent and reserved, gripping or lame.
The society I live in influences what people perceive of me as a character. If the spirit of the times places particular emphasis on communicative skills, this is ascribed to me as an ability, whereas if I had been born in a different time or on a different continent, something else would have been ascribed to me, which would have been en vogue. And so on.

I'm not even sure anymore if there is a strong tendency for this or that quality, because I've reached an age where I'm going through the proverbial change: menopause.

I think what I could say: there is a tendency. Those tendencies in humans can be quite fascinating.

In the End I like to say: I am Erika from Hamburg ;-)

Sort:  

My so-called character is perceived differently by children than by my peers, differently by animals than by people, differently by older people than myself, etc. For some I am inexperienced and naive in some areas, for others I am competent and self-confident.

Well stated.

Perhaps try taking the quiz while imagining yourself at a new job, then take the test imagining yourself surrounded by your closest friends. And compare the results.

I find that often, when I'm with friends, I turn into an ENTP.

Yes, I can confirm that. I like to drive it even further :)