You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why not being impressed by an intelligence which is neither omnipotent nor coincidental but "potent" and "incidental"?

in #philosophy3 years ago

Oh, bummer, I would have appreciated the somewhat longer comment, as I know that your formulations can shine some light on the topic. But other than that, I am fine with agreement, too :)

Yes, the fact that we can never be absolutely sure is something which we often do not think about and we tend to draw causalities in a simple way.

Having skimmed your first answer late last night, I would say that it is true that faith in healing is determinative of how well or less well people cope with an ailment. What I am hinting at in my text has to do with my view that people probably prefer to capitulate to some kind of superstition because not believing in a panacea could possibly lead them down tracks they are not ready for as it shakes their worldview (trust in others). The perpetuation of an event and the admission that one has adhered to a mistaken belief rather than having given room to scepticism is difficult for the self-image to bear.