You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eulogy to Socrates

in #philosophy6 months ago

There is something really special about Socrates, something deeply magnetic about him that arouses my interest,

I think that, too. Your text inspired me to search for sources who dealt with the fact that Socrates were found guilty of breaking the universal belief of that time and why he did not acknowledge the courts decision and drank the poison from which he died. While he could have chosen to accept either being banned or pay a fine. I found Hegel as a quite impressive source who investigated Sokrates case:

https://hegel-system.de/de/v33311223tod.pdf

I am now to translate some of it into English and will provide you with it, if you like.

Thank you for the source of inspiration!

Sort:  

Yes, as far as I know, he would not accept any other penalty, because he did not plead guilty. If he was not guilty, he did not have to be punished, even if it was a lesser penalty. Accepting guilt, for him, would be like lying, and that is something he did not do. It also would be like contradicting the whole philosophical life he led.

I am now to translate some of it into English and will provide you with it, if you like.

That would be great, if it's not too much trouble.

Thanks to you for stopping by!

Loading...