You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A cynical man and his bathtub - Understanding Stoicism: Historical context pt.1

in #philosophy7 years ago

As a greek person interested in philosophy I would like to thank you for your effort. Not because of its context (promoting ancient greek philosophy or not is irrelevant) but for the accurate description and the provided links in corellation with the subject. I do not have a Phd in Stoicism or Cynicism but this is by far the most carefully molded article for philosophy apprentices like myself.

And a personal addition is that the ancient greek word κύων (dog) made it to modern greek, where we call the cacine (κυνόδοντα) as a a tribute to the quite visible dog ones! I think both come from the Indo-European language roots though!

Greetings from sunny Greece!

Sort:  

I was about to write a similar comment to yours, lol.

Glad you liked it!

I'm curious though, is there a big difference between ancient and modern Greek? For some reason I was under the impression they are basically the same language.

Greetings from rainy Belgium! Haha...

Well I am not a philologist but from my understanding, basic grammatical structures have remained the same while others have been completely discarded. But the bigest difference would be in the vocabulary since the initial meaning of many words has been changed or in many cases the ancient greek word has been replaced by modern ones coming from english,french,turkish (deriving from the 400 years ottoman occupation). So its kinda of a mixed language with let's say a 50% similarity with the ancient one. For example when I read ancient greek texts in ruins I cannot completely understand, but the main idea (wars, gods, rivarlies, knowledge etc ) is understandable.

Keep up your interesting posts!