You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tyranny Of Positivity

in #philosophy5 years ago

I would say, it depends. To be honest I prefer the positively insane thinking than the negative circular vicious stress of complexity and dependence. War is sometimes inevitable but also evolutionary thinking and strategy. One does not necessarily follow the other but most of our history is based on events that both were present.

Being positive and precise, honest and realistic is hard. Taking advantage of any ways of the “force” to convince someone, very easy! Not necessarily positive or negative thinking...

Although I understand.

Cheers

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Being positive and precise, honest and realistic is hard.

Precision, honesty and realism are all ways to come to an understanding of truth. Positivity doesn't belong here sincs reality is not necessarily positive or negative. And there's of course nothing wrong with generally having a positive outlook on life. It's a question of balance and that balance is gone as far as government or corporate communication goes, both internally and externally. And we, as a society, have followed suit. So, there's nothing wrong with you if you are happy most of the time. I myself am just fine most of the time. Sometimes I'm sad, but I can be reasonably confident in the knowledge that in time, I'll be just fine again. Same with feeling happy; I know this is temporary and in time I'll come back to earth and feel just fine again. It's under the deceiving guidance of corporate and government communication that we're constantly trying to fly on a happy-cloud. And that makes me sad, makes me distrust the smiles around me. So please don't take this as a rant against happiness; it's not. It's a rant against the industry of happiness which eventually creates a lot of unhappiness.

Thanks so much for this response @forykw, I really appreciate it 😊

I just call them... “the sales people”... they are all the same... trying to convince everyone no matter the real consequences. ;)

Posted using Partiko iOS