You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Death, the Immortal Soul, and the Paradox of Morality

in #philosophy6 years ago

I live in the stark opposite of your environment. Here almost everyone is an active church goer. One expects to hear "have a blessed day" when leaving a store. (That phrase really annoys me. The implication always strikes me as though I have some sort of control over whether I am blessed because I must be a believer, but don't bad things also happen to believers? Does that make them not blessed, even though they believed, in which case having a blessed day comes back to the equivalent of "have a lucky day", in which case why do they need to throw in an element of religion when they could just say "have a good day"? I don't know. Maybe I should just chill out and be glad they want my day to be blessed.) I don't really share a lot of the standard devout person's beliefs, but there is a sensation of safety in it. I am more likely to trust the person parked next to me at the grocery store because they believe in someone instructing morality. Maybe that is naive of me.