You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Death of Conversation

in #philosophy7 years ago

I've always avoided conflict.
Not only conflict of views, but even physical conflict. While my friends would jump into a brawl to save someone, I would quietly find a way to escape.
I would be happy in my own world.
My journey to ummmm... 'enlightenment?'.. started when I first started conversating with myself.
I realised I was afraid of having a chat with myself, analysing my emotions and the consequences of it.
So in the rare cases I did have an argument with someone, instead of going through it and understanding what went wrong where and why, I would (wow, those were too many 'w' words!) go home and do something completely mindless (like watch TV) to forget about the incident.
But after going through 3 years of depression, I was forced to analyze my emotions and have a conversation with myself.
It was really tough and challenging.

But like someone said:

That's me btw. 😄

Once I learnt to understand myself better, why I did certain things I did, I started seeing those patterns in others which allowed me to empathise with them.
So now when I have an argument with someone, I visualise myself in their position, see from their perspective and then come to a conclusion.
This has made me a more tolerant, patient and humble person.

I don't know if I made sense at all. But the article stirred something in me!
Thank you for reading. 🙏🏼

Sort:  

This is a great mindset to hold, I believe. I too find myself analysing each choice I make and each emotion I feel. It is the only way to truly know yourself, what your motivations are, and whether they are coming from the right place.

Thanks for sharing your story, and I hope you are able to retain this philosophy for the rest of your life. For me, it's the only one that can provide you genuine growth.

Agreed! It's a constant battle, each and every day. Sometimes your demons win, but tomorrow is another day and the fight rages on! All you can do is try to be on top every single day.

Yes, that's how I see it. I just try to be better today then I was yesterday, as often as I can.