You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Mind's a Compulsive Liar - The Heart Tells the Truth

in #philosophy5 years ago

I often believe that even though people say that do something with their hearts they in fact still do it with their minds.

I agree. I too have been guilty of this. My guess, is that it is because we are so accustomed in the modern age to glorifying rationality and ignoring the demands of our heart, that when it does speak loudly to us, we might be able to discern that it's telling us something very wrong or something is very right, but the mind will do its best to reinterpret that message in a way that suits what the mind wants. But in my experience, the more you commit to listening to your heart over your head, the clearer it becomes to understand what the heart is communicating to you. It just speaks an entirely different language, and one that like any other, it takes a little while to learn - especially when one has spent much of their life running away from their heart, as I did.

I personally do not agree that drunk people say the truth.

Oh, I am also in disagreement with that. I mentioned it only because it something people say an awful lot where I am from, but I think it's far from true.