You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Tyranny Of Positivity

in #philosophy5 years ago

Yes I often feel the same thing. The part that actually makes me grimace is that if everyone was as happy as portrayed or claimed, why does everyone exhibit the background traits of being miserable? Why are so many people in need of therapists and SSRIs? Our 'modern' lifestyle does very little to impress me. For all of its comforts it has stripped a lot of of purpose out of life. Everyone now assumes life is about comfort and happiness. IMO that ended when we found the way out of the womb. In my own life it is about living to a code and living well in the face of it. That doesn't always include positivity brimming over the edge of 'the glass.'

Sort:  

Yes, thanks for this great addition @lostgeneration; I knew I left something important out... All the anti-depressants, therapies, drug-abuse... So glad you added that extra perspective on this onslaught of positivism. Great response, really appreciate it 😊