You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Will Flagging Ultimately End up Killing the Steemit Platform?

in #philosophy6 years ago

Yeah Dude, I'm already sure this is happening.

No doubt, you'll eventually have hundreds of (George Soros) paid instaWHALES trolling the fuck out of well intentioned content creators. It may likely result in downvote wars, which could spike the value of the SBD temporarily.

This has already happened to me, and it cost me a reputation point, and I was flagged by @blacklist-a for thought crime. These people have the thinnest skin! Freedom of speech exists no where on the internet. I thought Steemit was different. Turns out I was wrong. Now I can't even trade on the Internal market.

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this topic @mathiasian. Sorry to hear about that, yeah I have to say I had a different perspective on steemit before I joined too. Then it took a long time for me to even notice the flagging phenomenon. Most people just don't mess around with it, because it' causes drama, and is rude, and discourages people from feeling comfortable to share their true thoughts on controversial topics.

In the HF20 down voting should be allowed, but only at the maximum vote power of the account you are down voting if that account has lees SP than you. That would change the dynamic completely.

Hey, that's clever! It would definitely cause less incentive for people to abuse the mechanic.

I think the amount of re-steems should be visible too. I think seeing the number of resteems would make it more likely for others to resteem in turn. Like Twitter, the more something is shared the more likely someone is going to be willing to share it themselves.

Excellent propositions. Where do these get listed for witnesses to consider?

That's a great idea!

Hypocrisy much, @mathiasian?

I feel sorry for you, that you feel you have to keep downvoting me for something I've done, cowardly, without telling me what it is that I've done to upset you. If I've written something so wrong, why don't you put in my place with an intellectual argument? You could even enlighten me. I'd be so grateful.

You want to be remembered as a bully-boy & a coward, then? Do you have your own children who some day you'd like to remember you this way? (I assume your online persona reflects your offline one. I can't think of any reason why it wouldn't.)

So, yeah, I do feel sorry for you. Just probably not half as sorry for you as you yourself feel?

Reputation points are not currency, and are non-consensus, and aren't yours to control or trade; it didn't "cost" you anything. You don't own your reputation.

Yes, you earn your reputation! You earn you upvotes with good content and curation as they raise you reputation. Isn't that common sense?

Downvoted in disagreement as your staement is incorrect.