Sort:  

Thanks for checking it out! I considered getting into that part of it, but I feel like all of that is very obvious on a base layer if anyone is playing the game or reading/watching anything in it. Perhaps that's why this game resonates with me so well though as I've had to deal with plenty of my own depression and the guilt that religions seem to push on us. Religious guilt and original sin are some of the most horrible things humanity inflicts upon itself from my perspective.

It's a form of child abuse.

I saw this in philosophy and thought the same thing haha. I do love all the rougelike elements you've pointed out, and Isaac has become the cornerstone for new rougelike games because of it, but what they've always failed to reproduce is the incredible metaphorical depth of isaacs storytelling through symbolism. Incredible game, I recently purchased the entire DLC bundle to get the Platinum God achievement once and for all.