You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A cynical man and his bathtub - Understanding Stoicism: Historical context pt.1

in #philosophy7 years ago

Brilliant! I have been wanting to study upon what it means to be a stoic. Timothy Faris (The 4 Hour Work Week & Tools of Titans) talks a lot about stoicism so naturally, having listened to a couple of his podcasts, I'm beginning to get a bit interested in this ideology.

I have even, unknowingly, as you spoke of in your write up, begun to live by the mantra, "Less is more."

I have to say... I'm beginning to love the simplicity of it.

The image of Steve Jobs sitting on the floor under his beautiful lamp comes to mind... I have been finding that when I have less in my environment I'm able to derive more of the things I really value and care about. Space leaves room for what's important and allows me to focus on the things I really want from this experience called life.

@gamesjoyce I am really looking forward to your break down on Stoicism. :)

Sort:  

Thanks! I'll check out Timothy Faris. Never heard of him tbh.

Let me know how that goes! Tim has a great mind and interviews many people who are thought leaders and innovators. He actually had a lot of content but all of it is high quality. Enjoy! 🙂

It is spelled Tim Ferriss, he is most known for the "4 hour work week" I did an article about that here He has a fantastic podcast where he interviews a lot of top notch people from very diverse backgrounds. Stoicism regularly comes up. He even produced an audible book called the Tao of Seneca which is a treatment of the original letters of Seneca