Thoughts: Life & Inner Peace.

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Why is 'Inner Peace' so elusive?

Why do we look for it only when all is not well? What are we searching for?
Inner Peace, like Happiness, are concepts/feelings we don't fully understand. Many recent studies in Psychology focus on happiness and well being but no one is close to properly explaining the emotions that drive us.

...We are always having internal battles, occupied with the What-If's and If's-Only's.
The If-I-Had's and Then-I-Would-Be's.

When the truth, most of the time, is we haven't got the faintest idea what we want.

Love? Family? Career? Health? Money? Peace?

~ All attainable most of the time, except that elusive Inner Peace...

Indulgences, stress, a fast Life, juggling roles; drains us. We are so consumed by external demands that we forget to nourish our Selves, first. Knotted up in the lives that we lead, we know an empty kettle can't pour tea and yet, we neglect ourselves.

What I'm getting at is this, How do we make our experiences more pleasant? Why are we unhappy and unfulfilled?
Is Life not unfolding the way you expect? - one of those difficult Life Lessons.

62 years old, and still learning from the school of Life, things seldom go they way you plan.

How do we respond to Life's curveballs?

Insights, appreciated.


Follow me @Rainbowsky.

👍🏼Upvote and Resteem!
Art: @BelleKaur
Sort:  

Upvoted, followed you! I find God gives peace that, as He put it, "... passes all understanding." That true, inner, lasting peace that tells me He loves me and will never allow anything happen to me that He won't help me thru and make me better because it did happen! Thank you for posting a piece that makes you stop and think!