You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are We Headed Towards 1984 or Will We Just Amuse Ourselves to Death? An Analysis of George Orwell, Aldous Huxley, and Life

in #philosophy6 years ago

@schattenjaeger I enjoy your views and writing because I agree with your thoughts on the subject.

I remember years ago when the news started becoming entertainment. Ratings went up for entertainment.

Games seem to draw people in and they stay there for hours. They cost my brother his first marriage. Seems most of the time he was online playing computer games. I don't engage much in games for fear it will take me over. LOL

There is a story and you probably know it about boiling the frogs.
Wikipedia explains for those who have not heard it. Instead of writing the story out here is a Wikipedia explanation.

The boiling frog is a fable describing a frog being slowly boiled alive. The premise is that if a frog is put suddenly into boiling water, it will jump out, but if the frog is put in tepid water which is then brought to a boil slowly, it will not perceive the danger and will be cooked to death. The story is often used as a metaphor for the inability or unwillingness of people to react to or be aware of sinister threats that arise gradually rather than suddenly.

You hit the nail on the head saying they are using entertainment as a distraction.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my ramblings. :)

And yes, I'm familiar with the boiling frogs. Nice to see you bringing it up.