You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BACKWARDS WORLD: Today diversity instead means conformity...

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

I love this post. I am so sick and tired of seeing brainwashed idiots screaming about diversity and fascism while at the same time shouting down or even physically assaulting people that disagree with them. Freedom of speech was explicitly designed to protect speech that was disagreeable. Otherwise there would be no point.

I think that we are at an unfortunate point where too many people have been coddled and have a sense of entitlement to always get their own way, so when anyone dares to express a different point of view, they become uncontrollably angry. With the ones that constantly riot and attack people, it appears as though the reptilian portion of their brains has replaced the thinking part. Not a good thing. Words may have consequences in that you do not have to like someone or be friends with them. You can refuse to listen to them or read what they write, but you do not have the right to shout them down, attack them, etc. We have freedom of speech. Not freedom from feeling offended.

Just remember that even if you were able to shut someone up with threats of violence and ruining their life, someday, someone will inevitably not like what YOU have to say. It is the nature of human beings. We are not zombies or robots. We are TRULY diverse as a species and not just in the ways that certain political groups try to claim (as in external factors like race).

Sort:  

Excellent thoughts!

May I suggest you take a read of this incredible post by cupid zero that touches on exactly your comments: https://steemit.com/education/@cupidzero/safe-spaces-the-dystopian-infantilization-of-america-s-youth-part-2

All of @cupidzero's works are definitely worth reading. I joked with him that he may take over my blog due to me having to keep resteeming his works. I was joking, but I was also serious. His works are that good.

I actually did read the post you recommended and it was excellent. I almost felt like he was reading parts of my mind. Anyone that likes George Orwell is A-OK with me!

He has also been a university professor so he is deep in the thick of it and has been witnessing a lot of the changes going on first hand.

Thanks, I will check it out!