You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Consciousness is a HARD PROBLEM... why? | Casually Curious E1

in #philosophy6 years ago

Forgot to resteem until this morning - oops!

Part of why I have a soft spot for Jackson is that he came to my uni to give a talk on consciousness, and we had a beer afterwards - he seems like a genuinely nice guy - but that's true of pretty much everyone I've met from ANU. He was also the honours supervisor for a friend and former student of mine, which I thought was pretty cool.

I nearly wrote my PhD on Chalmers' approach to the hard problem, as he put it forward in The Conscious Mind. But it was too late for me as I'd caught a bad case of Wittgenstein and ended up writing 85,000 words on why Saul Kripke was wrong about linguistic meaning.

Sort:  

I just saw your profile I didn't realize you were a professor! Now I have some reading assignments haha your dissertation looks very interesting. I just recently bought Naming and Necessity and I'm trying to slug through it, which requires relearning logic (I sort of went the "least amount of work sufficient to pass" route for that class). Also reading his bio and discovering he was a child genius does not do much for confidence haha

I was hoping I might find some real-life philosophers on Steemit... if you're open to it I'd be thrilled to interview you on my podcast Casually Curious!

Very jealous you met Jackson btw...

Ha! Thanks for the promotion! I've got a PhD, and lots of experience, but not tenure. I don't even have an ongoing position at the moment. I'm more at the level of precariously-employed sessional academic who should put more effort into writing for peer-reviewed publication!

That said, I hope I meet the threshold for 'real-life philosopher'. Happy to talk about doing something on your show, even if I'm not a giant of the field.

If you are looking for other philosophers, you might talk to @nobyeni too.