You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I am a ...

in #philosophy7 years ago

And what would make you say that? I see no where in the Bible where God changes. Please show me where. God -Revelation 1:8 - I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty.

  • Also Jesus is the son of God and God at the same time. The Bible also states that Jesus is always the same too! -- Hebrews 13:8 - Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever. I beg to differ.
Sort:  

Did I say god changes in the Bible? I said the idea of the Christian god is fragmented which I maintain is actually the case. Ask a Southern Baptist, a Catholic, a Protestant, a Eastern Orthodox Christian and a Mormon what god is and what he demands from you and you find a lot of differences. So when many Christians say god, there are big differences in what they imagine god is.

That's why I say saying the Christian God is almost as unspecific as using the generic term god as there are so many sects of Christianity all with their own contradicting interpretations.

As of your unrelated claim that God doesn't change in the Bible, I would actually disagree. One, God constantly contradicts himself in the Bible and there are serious differences in the way the god character acts in the Old and New Testaments.

For instance, God's stance on human sacrifice seems to change:

Exodus 22:29

Thou shalt not delay [to offer] the first of thy ripe fruits, and of thy liquors: the firstborn of thy sons shalt thou give unto me.

Leviticus 18:21

And thou shalt not let any of thy seed pass through [the fire] to Molech, neither shalt thou profane the name of thy God: I [am] the LORD.

Examples of contradictions in the Bible are actually abundant. The ambiguity created by so many of them is actually one of the reasons that there can be so many radically different versions of Christianity as each sect picks and chooses different verses to follow and disregard based on different interpretations and external doctrines.