You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 TIPS on How to learn and/or preserve a language.

in #philosophy6 years ago

Haha, I love what you wrote about knowing two languages was like having two brains. That's so true - and in my case, those brains confuse each other.

When we lived in France, I went to courses where the teacher was from Australia. She taught in French, but in the breaks, she spoke English with me.

I just couldn't go from listening and speaking in French to English, so she snapped her fingers and said, "Switch!".

That worked.

I have to do the same here. I know a little Hebrew, so I often have to switch to either French (which is hard now) or English. I always say "switch" to myself to make it work.

Sort:  

Your "Switch" is very interesting, I use it as well and indeed it does work. It is basically a command that you give to yourself and the brain must get it done. Psychology definitely plays a big part in finding that intellectual balance. I also agree with the confusion between the "brains", in my case... I love poetry and Rap as a whole, I can write but in order for me to freestyle; it is almost impossible. But judging by the nature of my personality, I love proving myself wrong.

Go for it, then, @oblivist. I'm new to Steemit, but it's my impression that you can post both poems and fiction, even music.