You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My thoughts and Opinions on one of our world's biggest problems.

in #philosophy8 years ago

The drug thing made me think of a brave new world. Probably part of the reason for the Huxley quote. Was not the one I was looking for tho. I wanted to find the one where Jhon the savage says "I claim it all".

Most the mass killings in the US are done by people on those meds or getting off them.

They turn you into a zombie. I have stopped hanging around some people because they become to disassociated with reality because of their Xanax prescription. I don't even think they noticed because they were so out of it.

Not something I would wish on anyone tbh.

Oh found it,

"But I don't want comfort. I want God, I want poetry, I want real danger, I want freedom, I want goodness. I want sin."

"In fact," said Mustapha Mond, "you're claiming the right to be unhappy."

"All right then," said the Savage defiantly, "I'm claiming the right to be unhappy."

"Not to mention the right to grow old and ugly and impotent; the right to have syphilis and cancer; the right to have too little to eat; the right to be lousy; the right to live in constant apprehension of what may happen to-morrow; the right to catch typhoid; the right to be tortured by unspeakable pains of every kind." There was a long silence.

"I claim them all," said the Savage at last.

      `-Aldous Huxley -`