You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Death of Conversation

in #philosophy7 years ago

When I see people behaving "like an idiot", I set aside my desire to judge them for a moment, and consider the possibility that they lacked the capacity to do better.

This comment made me laugh. Simply because, it is pretty much the opposite of my perspective on it, which is a little ironic. You think it is perhaps mean of me to be intolerant towards idiocy, which I would agree with, but I do hold the belief that we all have the capacity to be better. It seems worse than intolerance to simply write them off as essentially lesser people.

Sounds like an interesting book nonetheless. I'm always looking to improve myself. Though... I'd rather an audiobook. I don't have much patience for reading. Seems an inefficient use of time to me.

Sort:  

I'm glad you had a laugh. I was really speaking from my own perspective, but using the same term to maintain the frame of reference.

Anyway, you inspired me to write a blog post. Thank you for your inspiration.

Love it when that happens. Consider yourself invited to provide with me the link afterwards. No flag--