You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why There Is So Much Suffering In The World, And How You Can Learn To Cope With It.

in #philosophy7 years ago

I don't think this analogy places the right items on the scales of balance, so to speak.

You don't need to know a desert in order to enjoy the taste of water. But, you do need a dry throat and a feeling of thirst in order to know that you need water, let alone to enjoy it.

Sort:  

point taken, I agree.

Ok, does a baby need to be told how to be happy, filled with joy?

I'm not expert, but from what I know, no. It is an innate emotion.

So why would the absence of 'pain', sadness stop that being an emotion it feels?
If a baby didn't know sadness would it still know joy, happiness..?

Ergo, you do not need to comprehend 'the negative', to enjoy the positive.

I hope my clumsy attempts to put my point across are okay -
I don't posses your education in philosophy, I think.

But my points are still valid, as I see.

Cheers

You can experience the beauty life without ever knowing, or encountering, death.....