You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Language and the Unconsidered -a segment from my newest book-

in #philosophy6 years ago

Ha, honestly, I believe that people have been refuting it for quiet some time now. I was reading something about it a few years ago. It's really just a bunch of people with different opinions in the end of the day.

Sort:  

I always think of this clip from Waking Life when talking about language,

But yeah there is some specific guy with a cool new theory that my dad was blabbing about, I forgot to ask him this morning! will get back to you. check out Waking Life if you never seen it, thats just a 2 min clip to get a feel

Yeah, this is pretty cool. I wouldn't mind checking it out further.
thanks!

Oh weird looks like half my comment before the video got deleted somehow...I was just saying how this clip comes to mind whenever it comes to language and now I am realizing that this movie does a killer job creating intriguing discussions for EVERY single topic it touches on. It's just great. I remember one scene making a group of my friends and I pause it for at least an hour to analyze what free-will is and whether we have it or not. It's been years but with all this talk I've decided to watch it again tonight!

I swear I purchased it before, of course I want to support projects like this, but for convenience sake we are blessed to have high quality free streams. I found the full movie here: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xhalb0. Let me know if you get to enjoy! Hell we could do a steemit post for each scene and we'll become rich! haha

You know what, I've actually seen a lot of data suggesting that we don't have any free will... but, to be fair, it really is moot. regardless to the fact, we still view the world as if we do have free will which is a comforting gesture.