You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Relationship of Genius and Madness, The Burden of Freedom, Suicide and The Comfort of Solitude

in #philosophy6 years ago

Interesting take. I usually define myself as a musician first, and everything else second. I went through years of misery, and it's still my nature to slip into darkness, but most of it is overcome by meaning. Meaning in action, focus, and achievement. Some artists were obviously not content with their own achievements.

It's also true that we seek to obliterate the past and future in a moment of artistic clarity.

Sort:  

Wow awesome, I’m actually a musician too. And that’s my main field. But I love other forms of art like writing and I saw steemit as a good medium to grow and learn from others to develop my writing and also touch people.

Awesome you found meaning from the years of misery. Any true artist has to go through some sort of misery because it’s around that point he starts to grow a connection with his true self and then he discovers places within himself that prompts openness. I believe there has to be a wound for light to pass through

And I think one of the main reasons why some artists were not content with their achievements is because they tend to fall into the illusion of perfection and it screws their mind. But still there is a concept called modified perfectionsm where he refuses to accept almost anything short of near perfection to drive more creativity

It's also true that we seek to obliterate the past and future in a moment of artistic clarity.

Exactly, the source of true creativity is in the eternal present moment

Thanks for the thoughtful comment!