You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Capitalism, Counter-Culture and Contradiction

in #philosophy6 years ago

Shot you a resteem. This post deserves better.

It certainly does eat everything, which is how we ended up with a meme for a president, check out @spectrums if you want to read deep into that. I try to stay optimistic about it though, thanks to mainstream capitalism eating hippies and punks and social activism and everything else, I’m finally allowed to speak out my ideas without being treated like I have dangerous ideas, as even criticisms of capitalism seems to have become a trend of the market, look at mr. Robot. The monster seems to be eating itself, for better or worse. What better time to live daringly, I suppose.

Sort:  

Haha it does feel like the end times of capitalism. Not sure whether being an accelarationist is a good thing or not though, specifically because it might just be a feeling that its the end of capitalism. It's managed to subvert every alternative so far there's nothing to say that it's not doing the same now. And I find many alternatives that are suggested now, like basic income and even blockchain, do have the potential to lead to hypercapitalisation as much as freeing us from capital...

Cool I didn't know about @spectrums. I've actually been struggling to find some real philosophy on here. I've looked through the trending and hot lists (ok, I haven't been looking that far then...) but I'm sick of seeing 50 million pseud posts on "be positive and positive things will come to you" feel-good bs 'philosophy'. Like him or hate, Zizek is right to say that the point of philosophy is to show us how deep in shit we are (and offer solutions of course, but that's not his forte haha)

Thanks for the resteem! I'll be keeping an eye out on your blog too :)

End times or 2.0? I can’t be sure, just trying to do what I can with the situation at hand. I am totally that “be positive” guy, but I try to be a bit more analytical than that too. I’ll try to be more cynical for you ;-)

Hahaha don't worry, I like to be positive too. Just within the bounds of real philosophy and thought, not new-age contradictory stuff which talks about finding your true self and then goes onto Buddhism and karma. Where's the Self you're supposed to groom and know gone there? I'm more of an optimistic cynic, or transcendental nihilist, or something like that.. ;)

nihilism2.jpg