You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A better version of the Golden Rule?

in #philosophy6 years ago

The english language unlike the Greek language is not an absolute language . Meaning our words change meaning .

"To Do" is a action performed .
where
"To Treat" is a behavior .

Both are important and represent two different aspects of how one is to live , behave and perform .

I'm not sensitive so I appreciate direct, even blunt, communication.

I am the same way and have offending many , many people unintentionally. When I engage with people I not only here what they say but try and understand their meaning . I think people are too quick to judge and miss out on the understanding or intent .

Sort:  

Both are important and represent two different aspects of how one is to live , behave and perform .

My idea was not to change "To do" into "To treat". It was to change "you" into "they". So instead of performing actions towards others according to how you want, you perform actions according to how they want. Instead of behaving towards others how you want, you behave according to how they want.

I suppose my post was not very clear. That's my fault.

no , it got what your intent was and agree . just wanted to add what the difference were and the importance of both . :)

Oh, okay. Got it. :)