Independence: Why it matters (it doesn't)

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)


[Image via Pixabay.com]

In America, there is a mindset that everything needs to be done by oneself. For some reason, we disqualify actions that required assistance from being considered successes. We value personal achievements over the pursuit of a greater good and the betterment of society as a whole. Our greed and shortsightedness take control and we ask, opposite of Kennedy’s famous request, what our country can do for us and not what we can do for our country. Of course, the term “country” can be substituted with many other factions, and on a broader scale simply with “society.”

Material wealth isn’t, and has never been, all it’s cracked up to be

On many levels, this need to approach life alone is a demented interpretation of the “American Dream” and capitalism as a whole. Society has taught us that to achieve success (read: wealth) and happiness (read: wealth) we must constantly work in attempt to be better than the next guy (or girl.) Unfortunately, this sort of search for perfection often leads to disappointment. Material wealth isn’t, and has never been, all that it’s cracked up to be, especially at the cost of social and familial relationships. Humans, like other mammals, are social creatures and draw a sense of purpose from relationship. The constant pursuit of gains places tension on those relationships and forces the pursuer into isolation as fears of losses close in.

Supporting oneself independent of others is a low efficiency model

Supporting oneself independent of others may appear to be the responsible and correct thing to do, however it is a low efficiency model. An applicable comparison is to contrast the productivity of an assembly line worker with that of a skilled worker. Yes, the skilled worker can finish a product all by himself. The assembly line worker, however, by doing his small part in a larger process, finds a shared output greater than the combined output of individuals working separately. The wealth of skill and knowledge in a group always wins out over an individual. By choosing to work together instead of stubbornly going one's own way, a person can find much more meaning and success in their work, even by doing just a small part.

The consequence of this, as many would be keen to point out, is that one can easily become a cog in the wheel of a massive system, ceasing to think for himself. However, a strong person, with good character, can succeed in a group without dominating or being dominated. They can demonstrate compassion without being taken advantage of, and aid to those who are in need. This is the true American dream, working together to achieve a common good and further society as a whole, bringing gains to oneself as they are brought to the rest of society.


What do you think? Am I nuts? Did I overlook something? Agree or disagree, I'd love to hear what you think in the comments, my only request is to maintain a sense of civility.


Note: This article has been, and will continue to be, edited for clarity and thoroughness. My blog and opinions are constantly evolving based on new information and my perspective at the time of writing, and to the fullest extent of my ability are revised accordingly.

Sort:  

I can't agree less with your submission.
Sad enough in the past few months America has really derailed from been the free world and the theatre of dream to the people, especially the immigrants. Its evident that Mr Trump does not regard the hopes and blueprints of the America dreams' founding father.
Although everyone have their perspective to governance, buh i vehemently think America and the great people of America need to return to status quo, and see America for what it is known for - a free nation.
Correct me if am right.

I think that either you misunderstand my writing, I have written it in a way that carries a vastly different meaning than I intended or else I misunderstand your comment. Allow me to attempt to clarify: I most certainly believe in the notion of the American Dream for those less fortunate and willing to work hard, I was just making commentary that much more can be achieved by working together than working by oneself, using the current state of (Trump's) America as an example of those attempting to go at it alone. The reason I put it in quotes in the first usage is because I feel that it has become synonymous with the pursuit of excess wealth rather than the pursuit of opportunity, justice and happiness. I decisively believe that independence (not to be confused with freedom) is not all it is cracked up to be, which may sound anti-American, but I strongly feel that teamwork and collaboration are strong forces and ideals that Americans should cling onto (by choice, of course.) I have edited my write up to attempt to make that more clear.

If, after this, you still disagree with me (which, by the way, is reasonable, it just means I misunderstood your comment) I would love to continue debate, either here in the comments or in the steemit.chat. I think you'll find me to be open minded and open to changing my opinions in the face of new perspective. Thank you for your time.

Following you! +UP