If You Didn't Know

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Would It Matter?


If you didn't know the person next to you was a robot, would it matter?

If you didn't know the person you were talking to was a robot, would it matter?

If you didn't know that the person you were touching was artificial, would it matter?

If you didn't know the person you were kissing was a machine, would it matter?

If you didn't know the person you were having sex with was a bionic person, would it matter?

If you didn't know the person you were married to was a non human, would it matter?

If you didn't know the mother of your children were not born from a woman herself, would it matter?

If you can't distinguish this person from yourself, why does it even matter?

static1.squarespace.jpg
Well Hello There ;*
Photo from google images

I'd love to hear your take on this topic! Comment below if you'd like to make my day and share your thoughts :D

And as always, thank you for reading.

If enjoyed this piece of a post you can check out my others posts @yrja
or you can read about me in my intro post :)

Love,
Yrja

Sort:  

Was the 'robot' conscious? Was it true AI?... Aren't our bodies just biological computers animated by some unknown life Force? If so, is the difference only in complexity and autonomy? Very interesting questions you raised, indeed... One catch-all answer I have for them is: 'If you get the same EXPERIENCE (emotional/sensual/otherwise) as from a 'real' person, then, no, it shouldn't matter'... That raises more questions about if you KNEW they were a robot at the time of having the experience or found out afterwards...


Thanks for messing with my 'human' brain on a quiet Sunday afternoon.. :)

hey @darcturian!
thanks for sharing your thoughts ! Much appreciated :D
I also think of our bodies as biological computers, that we are programmed.. yet what consciousness truly are thats a different topic we still haven't figured out. Super interesting.. So until robots becomes fully conscious perhaps we will manage to distinguish us from them.. but.. when we get the same experience you say I guess it should not matter at all after my opinion!!! But yes.. time will tell how we humans will handle this "challenge.." hehe

Soo many questions ..! I hope you had a relaxing and inspiring Sunday afternoon !

well that reminds me of Philip K. Dick's novel "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep". In it, one of the most salient question is about human nature: What makes us human? Is there a quality which distinguishes us from a machine?

The answer in the book seems to be compassion. But it remains somewhat unclear as some androids seem to show even more compassion than some humans do...

In one way this has been an age old question, on the other side the rapid technological development forces us to look at it anew. There seems to be some real progress towards AI, and maybe, just maybe it will actually be here one day.

For me personally, the fundamental quality that humans have (although I don't think it is limited to them) is compassion and love. If the android in my bed can really have this quality, then I guess it wouldn't matter. But I don't see that happening anytime soon.

@tobetada hello!! Thanks for the recommendation, I'll check out the novel out right away. Good questions,
We find ourself right in the beginning of a periode in which these questions will be highly necessary to discuss with everyone. The earlier the better.

Right now we can not see compassion in robots, but we are programmed to - so isn't there a possibility of programming this in a machine as well? When humans are programmed to have empathy, love and compassion?
And how about when we manage to program biological things? Will we be able to program and create a fully functioning biological human?
I guess if so, it might take another 50-100 years? I guess.. Or with the technology raising exponentially I actually have no idea when this could happen...!!
Have a wonderful Sunday!! hope to hear from you again, love your reflections :D

If we are just programmed so to speak to have compassion then I think it isn't compassion. It is impossible to prove that there is such a fundamental thing as love (which gives rise to compassion), but subjectively it exists. If the mind is quiet is can feel this quality and it is this quality which I am skeptical of that robots can ever feel it. Sure, it can be programmed, but it's not the same thing on a deeper level.

Of course maybe that doesn't even matter. Maybe people will be okay with robots emulating this quality. But there is something in my heart that tells me that this is fake, and not the real thing.

I totally get you on that, this will be such an interesting thing to follow.. I just hope I'll stay alive in order to see where this journey will take us. I'm one of those hoping to keep staying alive as long as possible.. he he!

Great post, I like it ;)
so, if science gets far enough to replace one neurone with an artificial one, will it make you a robot? how about two? million? your whole brain?
when can we draw the line between human or not, and does it even matter if it does exactly the same thing?

Please check my new post, I think you will like it!
@paps

@paps!! great reflection and questions!! What will the line between us and robots be? And does it even matter if it doest the same thing! As long as we don't make it "them" towards "us" when they basically function the same way I think we are good, I really do not hope racism issues will develop. But you never know, discrimination and judging is something humans always have been very good at... I'll check your post :D Thank you so much for reading at posting and SO great sharing thoughts with you!

Your post is awesome! and thank you very much for checking my post ^^
Let's keep supporting each other, It's fun to have quality followers :D

:D Thank you! Yes! Having quality followers is what makes this platform so unique. I love how warm and well reflected people seems to be in here!

Absolutely, It's fun to know that few people really find your content interesting and enjoyable ;D

hehe yes absolutely! and I love connecting with smart people so I'm super happy to be here ! and nice to meet you paps following you :D

Same ^^