COVERED BRIDGES OF THE United States # 19

in #photo7 years ago

Prairie Creek Crossing
Blackford County, IN.
.
This bridge is 60 feet long
.



Top 4 photos by Barbara Rayburn
source: http://www.dalejtravis.com/bridge/indiana/htm/14005a.htm
I believe the sign on the bridge says No cars on the bridge it is hard to make out exactly what it says. I would say this bridge is used for walking,bicycles or maybe horse and buggy. Oh and lets not forget maybe a riding lawnmower.
When I look at the construction of this bridge I don't think you would want to cross it in your car.
.

THANKS FOR STOPPING BY AND I HOPE TO SEE YOU IN MY NEXT POST
CHEERS @otisbrown

Sort:  

I have noticed most of these bridges have a shingled roof and not metal sheets.
I will be keeping my eye open for a metal roofed one

looking forward to seeing one with a metal roof

Different design to the other bridges....

yes I would agree

is the covered aspect for sheltering someone from rain?

It is to protect the floor of the bridge . Because the floor is made of wood