Klickitat, Also Know As Mount Adams in Oregon

in #photo7 years ago (edited)

Known by some of the local First Nations Native tribes as Pahto or Klickitat, this is Mount Adams, just to the north of the Columbia river. And it is a sleeping but potentially active stratovolcano in the Cascade Range. 

It has not erupted in over 1,000 years, but is not extinct. Mount Adams is a member of the Cascade Volcanic Arc, and is one of the arc's largest volcanoes. It’s the second-highest mountain in the U.S. state of Washington, after Mount Rainier. It is in a remote wilderness area 34 miles (55 km) east of Mount St. Helens. 

The Mount Adams Wilderness comprises the upper and western part of the volcano's cone. The eastern side of the mountain is part of the Yakama Nation. Adams' asymmetrical body rises 1.5 miles (2.4 km) above the Cascade crest. Its nearly flat summit was formed as a result of numerous cone-building eruptions from separated vents around the top. 

 I shot this early in the morning as I flew to the north from Hillsboro Oregon on my way to Yakima, Washington. 

From "Where Eagles Fly - The American Wilderness Expedition" my personal project of exploration in the North American Wilderness.  I am on a mission to raise awareness of our Iconic Natural Heritage Treasures of North America.  

Sort:  

Outstanding!

Outstanding very pretty photography

Yes, I have seen this mountain on my way to Seattle. My daughter is moving into the shadow of Mt Hood. I can't wait to see that up close. Do many people climb Mt Adams? Do you know if it was named after the president?

Is that melting ice???

Beautiful thanks.

I went to Mount St. Helens many times, but I didn't know Mount Adams.
Thanks ^^

It must be very cold there ?

I want photography this mountain :)

One day I'm going to buy one of your print outs!! So awesome :)

Good foto,hello steemit,follow

Awesome photo, nature is amazing :)

Another good one!

Nice job capturing the beauty of Oregon, I need to move back soon!
If you wouldn't mind following and up-voting me back it would be much appreciated :) https://steemit.com/@maninjapan1989

Looks great, I hope it remains sleeping... You managed to take a good shot from the air.

buena foto!!