Where do these snails come from?

in #photocircle5 years ago

9zntlecibb.jpg
Am I just a fool or maybe most of us don't know it. I have no idea where snails go during winter and from where do they come after rain.
I know its hibernation and shit and they need moisture and all but can anyone give me a hint of their hiding location to find them in their long sleep?

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Its because hibernation and shit! ahahaha

Haha! I'm glad I'm not the only one who wonders about these sorts of things.

I think they go as deep under logs and things as they can. Even into the ground a bit if there's a crawl space. I often find them in the holes of old bricks we have lying around. Of course here, they hibernate the hot dry times away.

Posted using Partiko Android

These tiny little details sometimes make me worry about the vastness of it world.
But it would be great to find one in its sleep and wake it up LOL.

They bury themselves in the ground and seal their shells to hibernate (apparently they can sleep for 3 years). They also do that when it gets too hot and dry for them. You on a snail hunt?

No man. Just thinking it out loud haha.
And how did you know this?

I was afraid you might be getting hungry or something. Lol, I researched it after I saw your post. I often find them while digging up gardens/flower beds in the spring but wasn't certain how/why they came to be there.

wow beautiful photograph of snails..
Thanks for share with us.

Thanks man. Loving your photos too.

Lovely macro shot of the snail, Cave.

Thank you. Glad that you liked it!

Just let them sleep, don't get too curious. lol

Haha man. Good to see you!