Cricket On A Tequila Bottle

in #photocircle6 years ago (edited)

As I was getting ready for work yesterday morning I heard a unique meow from my cat, Mr. Noodles.


Upon investigation I found him playing with a cricket! He's been known to leave dead mice and occasionally tiny skink lizards in the house so I was glad to have gotten to this one before his instincts took hold and he did irreparable damage...

When I tried to pick the little guy up he took a massive leap and soared towards the house recycling pile where an empty glass tequila bottle was waiting to be taken out. He landed perfectly on the neck of the bottle so I took the opportunity to put it on the kitchen table and make a few photos.

R0010300.jpg

R0010300 (2).jpg

I took these with my Ricoh Gr II which is by no means designed for taking macro photos. But I liked the contrast of the crickets earthy colours against the red label on the bottles neck. In the first photo I used whats called a "dutch tilt" by tilting my camera a few degrees off level to give a feeling of turning ones head to the side while viewing something interesting... Which this little guy was!

I thought I would add the high contrast black and white variations of the photos as well. I like the straight line that runs along the crickets back and the black and white variations give you a much better chance to appreciate the shapes in the image.

R0010297 (2).jpg

R0010297.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this little photo analysis and getting a closer look at my houses little guest!


Yours with Purpose
@harrynewman

Free Spirit, Creative
Positive Thinker
An Adventure Awaits Us

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the Photocircle tag!

Cheers,
@Photocircle Team

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

Dutch tilt eh, I didn't even know these things had names (but then again I don't even know the names of most of the stuff I do so...no big surprise XD). I got told crickets and grasshoppers were great protein snacks for cats, haven't done the research to confirm or deny this though XD Well good thing you got this one anyway, got you some nice photos.

goatsig

I never knew the names either until I started reading art analysis of modern street photographers. And if Bear Gryll's is happy enough to eat them I'm sure they are good enough for my cat hahaha. Glad you liked the photos though Rhyv, thanks for stopping by!

Wow @harrynewman this grasshopper has the most beautiful colours on I have ever seen. Most of the ones I see are just a grayish green colour. This is fabulous!!! I love the way his red dots match the red colour of the lid! priceless photo capture! Hope Mr Noodles doesn’t eat him though! Look who just jumped in to check out your photo!
C694592E-57F2-4976-BDF8-09AA376F6E3E.jpeg

Don’t worry Sally I freed him safely! I’m really glad you liked the photos and the composition/colours. Your little grasshopper friends looks very cute too!

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

He's been known to leave dead mice and occassionally tiny skink lizards in the house so I was glad to have gotten to this one before his instincts took hold and he did irreparable damage.
It should be occasionally instead of occassionally.

Corrected! Thanks for the service grammarnazi bot :D

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-14T00:50:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 71.50/100.00
Total Photos: 11
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Love the picture and the story behind it too!

He must have been thirsty or looking for a big night out :)

Cool catch! 😬